A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is a crucial aspect for any nation since the youth is the biggest asset a country has. It is therefore crucial for a country to have a good national curriculum.

In a country like India, where even the common language changes after every few miles, uniformity in the education system becomes crucial. Students coming from different parts of the country are normally exposed to different curriculums with varying difficulty levels. Furthermore, once they enter colleges, some students may find the course very easy, while some might have problems coping up to the subjects, depending on the difficulty level of their curriculum in school. Since this performance during graduate studies plays a crucial role in future careers, some students get an unfair advantage. A same national curriculum would solve this problem to a great extent.

After graduation, once these freshers start looking for jobs, recruiters use grades obtained in school as a preliminary criterion for shortlisting candidates. A student who finished schooling from a relatively challenging course may have scored less than a student who had easy coursework. Moreover, every job requires some basic skills which recruiters assume that the candidate possesses. This assumption is usually based on the local subjects and courses that are taught in the area where the organization is based. It may happen that a candidate coming from a different part of the country does not fulfil this prerequisite, simply because he/she was never exposed to it during his/her education. A similar national curriculum might also prove to be a suitable solution for this discrepancy.

A flip-side to this issue can be observed again in a versatile country like India where every region has its own culture and tradition. A uniform national curriculum might fail to expose the students to these regional traditions. For every individual, knowing and cherishing the culture and history of his/her homeland is essential; One should take pride in these traditions that have been carried forward since ages. Another important aspect is the local language. With every region having its own mother tongue, a student might remain completely unaware of the literary works of his/her mother tongue if it is not included in the syllabus. It thus becomes difficult to include these variations in the national curriculum of a country with vast diversity.

Keeping in mind all these factors mentioned hitherto, it can be concluded that a uniform national curriculum does have its advantages when considering the equality and fairness it brings to the education system. However, it may fail to inculcate a touch of regional diversity which is essential for the individual.