Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them

The author of the statement presents an opinion on the impact of computer games on the lives of children. The statement suggests that such games are a "waste of time" and children must not be allowed to waste their time on them. In my opinion, such games are not just a "waste of time" but can also have adverse effect on the physical and psychological health of children and therefore, it is best to keep children away from such addictions.

Primarily, such games are designed to attract attention. The creators of these games use techniques that directly affect the minds of the users making sure they spend maximum time playing such games.Furthermore, the advent of internet and multiplayer gaming allows users to connect with each other online and play together. This can lead to a "domino effect". For example, one child in class starts to play a particular game. He then encourages his friends to play with him. These friends ask their friends to tag along and in no time, the entire class starts playing. The kids now start spending more time online in the virtual world rather than focusing on better, constructive things.

Another major issue with these games is their content. Many a times these video games depict violent warfare and bloodshed which can have a negative impact on the user's psychology. Such games can encourage violence which can ultimately lead to grave consequences. This becomes even more important when the user is child. In the absence of appropriate parental supervision, the child's long term emotional and psychological health could get affected adversely.

A loss of physical activity can be a direct result of this addiction. The time which children spent playing a sport on the field, is now spent in front of the computer screen. Apart from reduced fitness levels this has led to a deeper and a more serious problem. In this virtual reality that the games offer, a child can build a world that suits him and therefore the game becomes addictive. It acts as a getaway from the real world problems that children should face since overcoming such challenges is an integral part of personality development.

All in all, I feel apart from being a waste of time, computer games have had major impact on the overall development of children.