The most ideal path for a society to set up its youngsters for positions of authority in government industry or different fields is by imparting in them a feeling of collaboration not rivalry Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you a

The youth is a valuable asset any nation possesses. Nurturing and preparing its youngsters for the challenges of life is, therefore crucial for any society. The claim posits that the best way of doing so is, to instil a sense of cooperation and coexistence into its youth and discourage competition. I personally feel a leader is an individual who inspires and helps those around him to develop holistically. To succeed in any field, cooperation and teamwork are vital. However, competition can also prove to be a significant tool, since it can drive individuals to perform to the best of their capacities and therefore undermining its importance may not be wise.

Consider the field of science. The Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2019 was shared among three individuals for the development of lithium-ion batteries. This is prime example of cooperation where like minds come together to create ground-breaking inventions to benefit society. In such cases competition can seriously impede growth. If these scientists had worked individually, and aimed for arriving at the solution before anybody else, perhaps they wouldn't have achieved this feat. In these situations teamwork is a prime factor for success and instilling a sense of cooperation in youngsters can surely prove beneficial.

Another, very common example, which can be viewed in every nation, is the general election. Every democratic country holds elections to choose its representatives to govern the nation for the upcoming term. The President or the Prime Minister might be the most important elected individual, but will he be able to run the nation without his cabinet? It is the teamwork and cooperation of all the elected members that decides whether a government is successful or not. If the leader of the ruling party cannot afford to work alone; he has to have the ability to resolve disputes among his co-workers, work with individuals of diverging mindsets and essentially act as a catalyst for cohesion, without which the government cannot survive.

Considering the same example of governments, without winning the election would these individuals have the opportunity to run the nation? It is here where competition drives the members of the political party to work hard during the campaigns. Similarly in every field without a sense of competition, individuals may not be able to stay sharp and always perform to the best of their capabilities.

Keeping all these examples in mind, I feel a balance of competition an cooperation is essential for any leader to be successful. Therefore, analyzing the situation and acting accordingly with discretion is important.