Of the two leading brands of automobiles launched in the past year, prancer cars are clearly more superior to the competing Acer cars. prancer cars boast aesthetically pleasing design and a fuel economy of 30kms per gallon. in the past quarter alone, 5000 prancer cars were sold. Acer cars, on the other hand, have received only a few positive reviews regarding their overall performances. I have personally test-driven both brand cars and I strongly recommend that you buy a prancer car for superior performance at an affordable price.

The argument talks about a comparison between two major brands of automobiles and their performance in the past year. The author goes on to judge one of them as a superior brand and recommends buying cars of this brand to the reader. However, his view point is rife with false assumptions and these need to be scrutinized before making a valid conclusion

Firstly, for a person wanting to buy a car, analyzing just two leading car brands may not be sufficient. Although, the two brands mentioned in the argument were the leading brands launched, the author's assumption that no other car can compete with these two is false. There may be a less known automobile launched in the past year that can have an even superior mileage or performance, the two metrics based on which the author supports Prancer cars. The reviews that the author talks about also considers only these two brands. Even though Acer cars received negative comments, there may be other less known brands that provide equal, if not better customer satisfaction than Prancer cars. Therefore, the spectrum of analysis is too narrow to decide whether Prancer cars are the best.

The author then goes on to talk about the number of cars sold in the past quarter and mentions the sale of 5000 Prancer cars. However, he fails to mention how many Acer cars were sold at the same time. He uses the number of reviews to compare the sales and assumes these two metrics clearly align with each other. It may very well happen that the number of Acer cars sold may have been more than Prancer and the reviews which the author has read were of the view people who were not satisfied with the vehicle; People usually report the negative responses more than the positive ones. Similar to the number of cars sold, the author does not provide any information regarding the fuel economy of Acer cars while pointing out to the superiority of Prancer (at 30 kms/gallon). Clearly, assuming that the Acer cars consume more fuel without any suitable data can be erroneous.

Finally, while recommending Prancer cars to his friend, the author talks about his personal test drive experience. Here, he only focuses on superior performance and affordable pricing. The assumption that these are the only two points worth analyzing while making the decision can be errorneous. Prancer cars may have maintenance issues in the long run while Acer cars might be durable. Some people have a tendency to change their cars frequently. These people also take into consideration the after sale price of car. The author fails to take this metric into consideration and provides no information. Also, if we assume that the Acer cars sold less (although the author has not provided any quantification), this may have been due to the class of cars that brand Acer represents. Prancer might be a regular car that a common man can afford, whereas Acer cars might represent luxury and status and therefore are costlier and sold less.

Keeping these factors in mind, I feel the author has failed to analyze the issue dispassionately. All that the conveys in the letter is his liking towards Prancer cars.