The following appeared in a letter from a car owner to a friend.

”Of the two leading brands of automobiles launched in past year, Prancer cars are clearly more superior to the competing Acer cars. Prancer cars boast aesthetically pleasing design and a fuel economy of 30 kms per gallon. In the past quarter alone, 5000 Prancer cars were sold. Acer cars, on the other hand have received only a few positive reviews regarding their overall performance. I have personally test driven both brands, and I strongly recommend that you buy a Prancer car for superior performance at an affordable price.”

In a letter to a friend, a car owner lists several reasons why a Prancer car is superior to an Acer car and recommends the friend to buy the former. While the reasons seem logical prima facie, on closer inspection, it becomes clear they are based on several flawed assumptions, three of which are detailed below.

To begin with, the car owner avers that Prancer cars have a pleasing aesthetic and a fuel economy of 30 kms per gallon. Here, the owner presumes that these factors are a priority to their friend, and will persuade them to buy a Prancer car. However, there is no mention of the friend stating that these are the desired specifications. Firstly, aesthetics are subjective; while the car seems attractive to the owner, their friend might disagree. Further, the fuel economy of Acer cars is not mentioned at all. It is hard to compare the two brands, given that the information is incomplete. Acers cars might have even better mileage, in which case Prancer cars are not superior in this respect.

Additionally, the car owner cites sales data regarding Prancer cars, stating that in the last quarter, 5000 of them were sold. The owner categorically assumes, however, that this number is impressive. But no sales data regarding Acer or other brands is provided for the friend's perusal. Moreover, it is assumed that this number is indicative of the brand's overall sales performance without considering other factors to which it might be imputed. For example, the last quarter could have been holiday season, during which discounts are often offered and the public is more susceptible to over-purchasing. In order to evaluate the significance of Prancer's sales, the owner must produce more detailed information and consider any other factors that might have contributed to the so-called impressive sales.

Subsequently, the car owner juxtapositions Prancer's sales with reviews of Acer cars. These metrics are not comparable. The owner assumes that since Acer cars have only a few positive reviews, their performance does not measure up to that of Prancer cars. However, there is no evidence provided to come to this conclusion. Reviews are not perfectly reliable indicators of customer experience, in that they might be biased, written by competitors to deter prospective customers, or simply not representative of all the customers who have purchased the product. For their reasoning to be rational, the car owner must provide solid backing evidence, including sales data of Acer cars, and a reliable survey of both brands.

In conclusion, while the car owner has stated numerous reasons why they think Prancer cars are superior to Acers, the reasoning followed to come to this conclusion is based on several unwarranted assumptions that have no supporting proof. To evaluate the recommendation of purchasing a Prancer car, crucial pieces of evidence stated above must be provided, and further analysis made in light of the new information.