Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

Warren Buffett once said, "Tell me who your heroes are, and I'll tell you who you'll grow up to be." Wouldn't it be grand if it worked that way? Our heroes are our ideals - the ones after whom we model our life. It seems reasonable then, to say that a society can be judged by the people it chooses to idealize, but I would disagree, for the following three reasons.

It has been rightly said, "Never meet your heroes", for most often they are imperfect. We must remember that no human being is flawless. If we choose to herald an individual, we must attempt to emulate only their best qualities. Take the Dalai Lama, for instance. Although a beacon of light for multitudes across the globe, the Dalai Lama has been criticized for his misogynistic views in recent years. This is not to undermine his spiritual teachings that have touched the hearts of many. To say that his followers are all misogynists themselves would be unfair. Thus, there are many nuances to be considered before claiming that a society that praises an individual represents all the individual's beliefs as a whole.

Secondly, achieving fame is easier in some professions than others. For example, most actors are much more famous than most scientists. Is that to say that actors are more representative of the society's psyche? Sure, Meryl Streep and Emmma Watson are household names - and veritable role models at that - but that does not imply that a high-school girl has not read about the contributions of Ada Lovelace to computing or that of Marie Curie to chemistry. Celebrity culture is simply too ubiquitous in modern life, and publicity professionals too shrewd. It would be inaccurate then to extrapolate that most high-school girls want to become entertainers rather than scientists, simply because superficial data claims so.

Additionally, if history has taught us anything, it is that public opinion swings. When Galileo asserted that the Earth is spherical and not flat, he was tried and executed - only to become a most revered astronomer posthumously. The Bronte sisters, who wrote under male misnomers because of the patriarchal pressures of then, are now recounted among the best novelists of their time. Does this mean that Galileo or the Brontes did not have like-minded peers at the time? No, it simply means that their followers were in the minority, which is why their work went largely unrecognized. That they are praised now at large also does not mean that there are none who disagree with their opinions now - it only means that they are in the minority.

Simply put, the attitude of a society towards any individual is not homogenous, and to generalize individual opinions would be to unfair to many. To best examine the character of a society, one should pay attention to how much import the society places upon any "hero", and how much it chooses to learn from them.