The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States. "For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among it subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a chain of cheese stores spread across the United States recommends in a memo that it would be a profitable move to stop stocking of most imported cheese varieties and focus on domestic cheeses primarily in all the stores. The manager supports this argument by citing a survey and some sales data, which, on the surface, seem reasonable. However, on closer inspection, it is easy to see that the argument is hasty and may have adverse effects.

To begin, the manager puts forth sales data from the newest store in the chain, which shows that all the five best-sellers at this store were domestic cheddar cheeses sourced from Wisconsin. The manager fails to mention, however, the location and the customer demographic of this store. For example, it is possible that the store is located in Wisconsin itself, or at least close to it. If the cheese-lovers of the locality are born and brought up on Wisconsin cheddar cheeses, they will obviously be the most popular cheeses at the new store. But this sales data cannot be extrapolated to all the stores located across the US, keeping in mind that one size does not fit all. It is quite possible, for example, that customers in other regions such as California, have never come across Wisconsin cheeses and have different favorites. The manager would do well to consolidate sales data from more than the one store, in order for the argument to hold water.

Subsequently, the manager cites a magazine survey to illustrate that there is a rising affinity for domestic cheese varieties over imported ones. However, there is a critical thread missing from this reasoning. It is not mentioned whether the magazine's subscribers are the same people who buy cheese from the chain of cheese stores in question, or at least representative of them. There is no mention, really, about who the responders of the survey are. Are they a big enough sample size? Do they represent all or most of the cheese consumers across the US? Are they even from the US? How long ago was the survey conducted? The manager assumes that the survey results apply to the chain's customers. However, if it is not so, then building a business strategy over an irrelevant survey may cost the chain stores dearly.

Even assuming that the cited survey is applicable to the chain of cheese stores, it does not make sense to discontinue stocking most imported cheese varieties altogether. The stores may lose many patrons of the imported varieties, and a sizable chunk of the profits may be cut off. It is important to remember that customers enjoy variety while shopping, and often try out new options instead of their habitual choices. By eliminating variety, the stores may miss out on such experimental customers. In the worst case, other shops selling these imported varieties may open up to claim the market segment.

To conclude, the manager's recommendation to move the chain's focus to domestic cheese varieties and move away from imported varieties is misinformed at best and deleterious at worst. While making this argument, the manager has provided shaky evidence and made several assumptions about customer purchasing habits. The manager would benefit from a critical reexamining of the evidence. Otherwise, the stores may be led down a different path than the intended, and profits may actually fall instead of improving.