Today it is clear that our increasing use of technology has caused more harm than good for mankind.

It is a common saying that too much of a good thing can be harmful. Elders in society warn us over and over to abstain from indulging in any thing, no matter how innocuous it may seem. On paper, then, it seems as if the ubiquitous use of technology has left mankind for the worse. But on a closer look, it becomes clear that technology has improved human life tremendously, as explained below.

When was the last time you hailed a horse-and-buggy to go to work? When was the last time your commute took up the better part of your day, and left you too tired for the work itself? Technology has revolutionized transportation in the last century, so that work and productivity may be given priority over menial concerns such as your means of transport. Going one step further, we are now able to work efficaciously from the comfort of our homes. Indeed, studies claim that productivity over the last few months has gone through the roof, as employees are available when there is work to be done, and can use idle time for leisure. In short, technology has freed up time for us to pursue better things. In this aspect, technology can hardly be termed as baleful to human life.

Further, in the last two centuries, technology has disrupted the information industry, and changed the way we consume information. Starting with the printing press, news was made available for daily, widespread consumption by the masses. Today, with the easy access to social media and news channels, it is no longer possible for any entity - governments, individuals, businesses - to carry out misdeeds in secret. The public can keep its finger on the pulse. Clearly, if it weren't for technology, we would still be susceptible to bamboozlement by the ones in power, and oblivious to events happening in other parts of the world.

One may argue that since technology is responsible for climate change and the slow destruction of the planet, its use and progress should be checked. But such a Luddite attitude will help no one. Technology is the need of the hour, and it has been born out of necessity. The only thing we can strive towards is sustainable development of technology; and the recent increase of its use for renewable energy generation is a good example.

To conclude, admittedly, technology has created a host of problems for mankind that will take time and efforts to solve. But considering where we would be without it, it is quite apparent that we cannot do without it in today's day and age. We must only ensure that it serves the purpose for which it was invented, and that it leaves the world a better place.