Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

"Knowledge is power" goes the famous aphorism. In this digital age that we are living in, data is currency; whoever owns data - whether it is data about consumer habits, social media trends, or classified military information - automatically has an upper hand over the rest. It is hence logical that the general public would not want the government to have a monopoly over data; but I believe that, barring exceptional circumstances, political leaders might be correct in withholding sensitive information from the general public, for the following two reasons.

Firstly, much of our world operates in significant secrecy as a general strategy. In the event of a conflict, the element of surprise is often the best tactic for attaining victory. Take for example, the slaying of Osama Bin Laden by the US military. For years, the US had been trying to track down Laden but to no avail. It was only when the US military resorted to spying and infiltrating Laden's inner circle that they were able to locate him. It actually came as a surprise to the world when the US declared that they had brought about his downfall in the middle of the night. Clearly, keeping Laden's movements on a strict need-to-know basis is what led the military team to a smooth victory. Similarly, during the second World War, when the British had been successful in decoding Enigma - the clandestine communication technique employed by the German military - it was of utmost importance to keep it a secret. It was this tactic that helped the Allied forces counter German attacks, and end the war. Had the Germans got wind that Enigma had been decoded, they would have created another mechanism, and the British would have needed several years thereafter to decode it. Thus, it is reasonable for leaders to guard crucial information as it often ends up getting the job done.

Secondly, what is one man's trash could be another man's gold. To the layman, information, on paper, may look like just numbers and letters. However, to someone with the wrong intentions, it could be a treasure chest. For example, something as mundane as the shift timings of Customs officers on an airport or a harbor cannot remotely be interesting - unless that schedule falls into the hands of smugglers of illegal goods. Observing which officers are lenient or lazy in their work, and their shift timings, could make the smugglers' job downright easy. It is easy to see, then, why even seemingly trivial information must be safeguarded by leaders in office.

One could argue that transparency is a crucial aspect of the government's functioning, and one would be right. Consider for example, the unbridled expenditure that goes into election campaigning in most "democratic" nations like India. Bringing election spending under the jurisdiction of the Right to Information Act is an uphill battle that has been fought in vain. Isn't it a prerogative of the voters to know if a politician has received funding from any lobbyist groups before they decide to vote her or him into office? Or consider for instance, the recent reveal by Edward Snowden of the widespread monitoring of the American public by the NSA (National Security Agency). For years, the NSA secretly kept track on the day-to-day lives of ordinary citizens, under the guise of tracing terrorist activity. This was a clear violation of the right to privacy; and most would agree that when Snowden blew the whistle on these operations, he was in the right. While some of the political leaders involved may have justified this act as having been done in the interest of national security, there is no greater good than the upholding of individual constitutional rights.

In conclusion, there are instances where political leaders, in critical situations of national security and public safety, are justified in their decision of retaining sensitive information. But in no instance are they justified if doing so infringes upon the constitutional rights of the public.