Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a reason in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

"Ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country," said the former US President, Franklin D. Roosevelt famously. Roosevelt stressed upon the need for the citizens of a nation to sacrifice their needs and comforts for the greater good, which is where our views diverge. In my opinion, the claim and its supporting reason, which put the welfare of citizens above the achievements of its rulers, artists, and scientists, are both correct.

A government is based on the notion of establishing an organization of the people, by the people, and for the people. At its core essence, a government is meant to provide adequately for the needs of the masses. It is baffling, then, that the nations that are so-called "superpowers" in the 21st century, hardly ever live up to this expectation. Consider for example, the US, which is arguably one of the most accomplished countries in terms of scientific progress. While science as a discipline is supposed to make the human life easier and more convenient, it is surprising that the US ranks so low on the Human Happiness Index, much behind Nordic countries such as Finland, Norway, Sweden, etc which are largely welfare states. In the latter countries, although science has yet to catch up to the rapid pace of advancement as in the US, the people are more content with life. One could argue, then, that these countries are more accomplished than the US in achieving the goals that their governments were set out to.

Building upon the implication that human happiness is a better indicator of a great nation, social and economic equities in such a nation must be negligible, if present at all. All factions of such a society must benefit from the same opportunities regardless of gender, race, or faith. Curiously, while most of modern feminism originates in the western countries, the US ranks 51st on the recently conducted global Gender Equality survey. The UK ranks marginally above the US, yet still behind such African countries as Rwanda and Namibia. There are, evidently, many egalitarian societies which have not traditionally enjoyed the limelight of a "great" nation, possibly because they have not scored well on conventional measures of "greatness". For example, in the 20th century, while the world was ravaged with two global wars, it became second-nature for countries to boost their military prowess, at the expense of the public good. While major powers such as the US, North Korea, or Japan poured their resources into building missiles and expanding their nuclear strength, their people were starving in the streets. What good are the achievements of "great" rulers, if they fail to provide the most basic necessities to their subjects?

To conclude, while science and militia may have been put on the pedestal throughout human history, it is high time that we recognize that they are merely a means to an end - the end being a comfortable life for the multitudes. We all know what happens to dictators and authoritarian regimes that, in the name of progress (economic, scientific, or expansive), overlook public welfare - the public rises against them. An amiable, content population that is well taken care of by the government, thus, is surely the best indicator of a great nation.