Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Definitely, it is true that the symbol of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people rather than the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists. It is flawed to assume that the country success is measured by the achievement of its rulers, artists or scientists rather than the prosperity of its people. Thus, the best way to measure country’s success is actually measured through the people achievement.

Firstly, the greatness of the nation is defined by the welfare of its people. The indigenous population directly impart their role to indicate the definition of a great nation. People’s freedom of speech, living, their hardship for survival and the accessibility towards technology are the parameters to define the achievement of a great nation. For instance, People living in the certain part of the country X do hardship to earn their living although the success of its rulers is worldly.

Secondly, there are certain countries in the world whose economic activities are dominating in the world through selling of petroleum products likewise Sudan, although people living in this parts struggles for a single grain of rice due to lack of fertile land for agriculture. People are bereft of education, shelter and health facilities. The country is suffering from civil wars and some local terrorist organization is gaining support from local people as they speak in favor of people rights. Although, the country is achieving economic boom; but, the people is facing tremendous problems to earning its way of life.

Thirdly, the destruction of two major cities of Japan Hiroshima and Nagasaki during second World war had led Japan to face economic crisis through the mass destruction of its resources and its property. The act of some rulers had led Japanese people to face the suffering or destruction during world war. The Japanese people had suffered from poverty and food crisis along with the devastation of their industry as well as economic activity. With the aids from America, Japan slowly gaining economic reforms by utilizing local manpower; blocking foreign imports and utilizing maximum local goods. With the skyrocketing between the years 1950 to 1970 in industrial revolution, Japan slightly increases the people’s economic conditions and standard of living. In today’s world, Japan has become the fastest country in east Asia to achieve the saturation of Economic development. It was the will of certain leader where the Japan had to bear the casualties of Second world war leading their people to suffer from devastation of livestock and food crisis.

Moreover, some scientific findings have large consequences with the daily life of common people. Scientific achievement in developing robots in replacing the man force in industries has led many people deprived of jobs leading in increasing in unemployment in the countries which directly increase the hardship among people. Similarly, the implementation of reservation system by some ruler to earn the compassion of some backward societies has led true energetic young people bereft of qualification in getting admission in universities and some reputation job opportunities.

Thus, it is well remarkable to indicate the success of the country through the welfare of its people rather than the achievement of its ruler, scientist and artists.