People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Glancing back through modern history, one will undoubtedly notice that many remarkable changes have been sparked by people questioning the rules of authority. One might argue that outcomes of these changes have weighted both the good and bad sides of human history and that questioning the authority might go wrong or it may be dangerous. But, the consequences of dangerous part are not due to the questioning to authority, it is due to action by the involvement of people. Questioning the authority helps to reveal the changes necessary within the established institution. Thus, I strongly agree with the statement that people should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

One might look through Indian history of independence, where Mahatma Gandhi through his non cooperative movement helped India to make free from British Empire. Mahatma Gandhi started nonviolence protest and asked frequently the British authority to leave India. His questioning to authority not only inspire others but motivates others to join in his nonviolence protest. Finally, his regular questioning helps India to become independence and also helps social and political stability within the country.

Looking back the formation of the United State of America, British ruler used to charge unfair taxes among the citizen in their colonies and treated them in accordance to British law until some power men questioned the British rule and stood up to defend them and finally built an independent entity. Their questioning to British regime helped the leader to establish the different authority stance than the British. The United states finally became a democratic country with their own represented leader by their own people. Thus, questioning to authority not only brought social and political changes but also helps shaping the future of American people and made United states one of the most powerful nation of the World.

Similarly, but most extreme the people of France in 18th century used to live in delusion that their monarch was ordained by God for many years. Their live was full of hardship, starvation and greed but their monarch used to live untainted palatial lives. Finally, masses came to question the monarchy rules and finally the monarch system was overthrown. After the monarch collapse, some radical group came into power and criticizing the harsh rule of previous authority and finally they were successful to establish republic government with their assistance of questioning their authority and made their country free from some tyrannical rulers.

In today’s world, we can see the differences between questioning the authority verses accepting them passively in South Korea and North Korea respectively. In South Korea due to establishment of democracy through people struggles and regularly questioning the government, development works are going rapidly. South Korea gave us a two brand company Hyundai and Samsung whose products are globally ruling. Whereas, in north Korea the dictatorship still persists. North Korean lives under the decision of one people wills and have to follow his decision passively. There is a ban of television as well as internet service where people are dearth of information all around the world.

However, some might claim that questioning the authority implies violent action in the case of civil change and leads to mass destruction; argue this is the consequences of questioning the authority. This is actually not the case, it depends upon the will of individual who is in authority and consequences are the result of its decision. It is always not true questioning the authority leads a prosperous society but it might lead to blockage in development works, segregation as well as hindrance in progress. For example: People representative in an upper house to serve the constituent and solving the problem of society as well as social hindrance. Their decision might affect some privileged society but favor and cover large group of people which might segregate population and hindrance of progress as well.

In general, society cannot be imagined without questioning the authority. It is the right as well as responsibility of every citizen to question their authority to bring change in social as well as political status. There must be some relevancy in questioning the authority otherwise it may hindrance the development work and segregate population.