The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The following argument appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, who is an anthropologist stating that the interview centered method establishes a much more accurate understanding of child rearing tradition in Tertia and nearby islands. However, he contrasts with the Dr. Field’s conclusion stating that observation-centered approach is invalid. His interviews with children living in the group of island including Tertia shows that these children spend much time talking about their biological parents rather than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp finally jumps into the conclusion supporting interview-centered method that his team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia and invaliding observation centered approach by Dr. Field. However, the conclusion establishes by the Dr. Karp is not complete enough and his argument needs to be properly evaluated along with explaining unwarranted assumptions before asserting any conclusion.

Firstly, Dr. Karp talks about the study of Dr. Field who is also an anthropologist which was studied twenty years ago. In his study, Dr. Field concluded from his observation that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their biological parents. However, Dr. Karp fails to give any evidence regarding tradition may change in nearly two decades. In the last twenty years, children start rearing by their own biological parents rather than by an entire village. Dr. Karp should consider all the evidence of parenthood before jumping to any conclusion.

Secondly, Dr. Karp states his recent interview with the children of Tertia. But, he fails to explain any statistical data regarding the number of children who participates in his interview. He fails to submit any statistical data regarding the total number of children in Tertia and its nearly by islands. He again fails to state any data and category of children of various age group. The criteria of interview are not explained in the argument or the pattern of questions asked by interviewer to children. He also fails to state the time period does the child spend during his interview: Either, he is alone or with his biological parents. If the children are with their biological parents, they definitely talk about the member who is around him. Hence, Dr. Karp fails to consider all these assumptions.

Thirdly, Dr. Karp acknowledges his conclusion over Dr. Field. Dr. Karp refutes the conclusion asserted by Dr. Field regarding observation centered method is invalid. However, Dr. Karp fails to present any evidence why Dr. Field observation is invalid. Eitherthe process used by Dr. Field twenty years was popular and used by other contemporizes in that time period; but, has some limitations with the travelling of two decades. Dr. Karp, however, fails to present any evidence regarding the method used by Dr. Field.

Moreover, Dr. Karp, presents that the interview centered method is using by his team of graduate student to study the child rearing tradition in Tertia and nearby islands. However, Dr. Karp fails to state any methodologies used by his team. He also fails to represent any procedure regarding the interview centered method used by his team. Either the team mates are the experience ones or the new ones who has done the interview. Either the report present by his team is authentic or fabricated. Either they are following the same pattern to take the interview or pattern of questions are varying among the interviewers. Hence, Dr. Karp fails to present any evidences related to these unstated assumptions.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is full of unwarranted assumptions. Dr. Karp needs to explain all these unstated assumptions in the form of systematic research before presenting any conclusion regarding the interview centered method is much more accurate in understanding the child rearing tradition in Tertia and his surrounding islands.