Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

With the implementation of a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors, fifteen years ago. Since that time, overall student grade averages have risen by 30 percent. However, potential employers believed that grades at omega university are inflated, that does not mean it reflects student achievement. They compared graduates of Omega university unable to get jobs in comparison to Alpha university and finally led to conclusion that omega university should terminate student evaluation process of professors to get better job secured. However, potential employers resulted in conclusion without evaluating unstated assumptions which creates loopholes in above arguments.

Although, the new procedure has been implemented fifteen years ago to encourage students to evaluate the professors for better effectiveness, it is not mentioned in the arguments that it is validated till date. Due to fear of failure in evaluation process, professor starts giving proper timing and starts extra classes to overcome doubtful problems. Because of fear of low rank in evaluation test, professor may provide extra notes regarding course contents. Even the bond between professor and students may have increase which motivates the student to focus on their career path. All these unstated assumptions are further needed to evaluate to ensure better grade in their classes.

It is unstated that how the potential employers came into conclusion although the grades at Omega are inflated but they rely that student do not reflect achievement. As these employers required very good interview session along with academic qualification. These Omega students are poor while attending interview session rather than academic knowledge. Thus, university should hire counselor to train their students for interview purpose along with good qualification remarks. Employer became prejudiced while comparing with Alpha university. Employer preferred student from alpha university in comparison with Omega university. It is not mentioned in the argument that Either alpha university train their student for interview session with the help of sound counselor and they provide training to their student according with the requirement of outside jobs along with the academic session.

Moreover, it is not mentioned in the argument that either similar procedure to evaluate their professor is going on Alpha university or not. It is not mentioned that although their students are with the similar practice as that of omega college are devoid of achieving good academic knowledge. It is not mentioned that employer initially thought alpha student are good but later realize that they do not have any good academic knowledge which might affects their products, their design and reliability. All these pre assumption need to be explained before drawing any conclusion.

Therefore, without considering all these loopholes, it is prejudiced to draw any conclusion. If the author is able to answer all these unwarranted assumptions and provides more evidence in the form of systematic research, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the purposed recommendation to terminate these evaluation process of professors.