The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client which predicts that there will be an increased demand for heating oil as most homes in the northeastern united states have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating due to typically cold winters. The advisor also claims that the region had experienced 90 days with below normal temperatures at last heating season and includes the prediction of climate forecasters whose claims are that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. In the letter, it is mentioned that new homes are being built in that region due to recent population growth which predict the increasing demand for heating oil and further recommendation of investment in Consolidated industries whose major business operation is the retail sale of home heating oil. The argument seems plausible when observed per functionary, but at close scrutiny, it looks implausible due to presence of unwarranted assumptions. To make argument valid, it should be explained with valid reasoning which are stated below:

First of all, the argument comes to a hasty conclusion of increasing demand of heating oil in northeastern United States as most homes have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. It fails to conclude any relevant data of modern houses where modern equipment’s are used for heating purposes. It also prevails the conditions of typically cold but fails to organize any data of temperature variations at that region. It provides the data of last heating season where the region experienced 90 days of below normal temperature and predicts that the same conditions will continue for several more years which is vague to assume.

Secondly, the firm investing advisor’s claims of increasing demand of heating oil due to increasing of new homes followed by the increasing in population in that region which is full of fallacies to assume. It is possible that the new homes will include new possibilities of heating mechanism using electric energy or solar energies; by asserting new design of walls which provides new insulting devices for homes resulting in low heat transfer within the walls. This new layer of formation will naturally block heats that prevalence the desire temperature within the homes which decreases the demand of oils.

Thirdly, it is recommended to invest in Consolidated industries whose major business operation is the retail sale of home heating oil. It fails to infer the total amount of homes which depend on oil consumption for heating purposes. For instance, there are newly developed homes which use modern devices for heating purposes in comparison to traditional houses whose are solely depend on oil for heating. It is infeasible to recommend the establishment of consolidated industries to supply of oils for few homes. It is possible that the consolidated industries is in nearby villages or towns where transportation charges are few in comparison to establishment of industries. Moreover, the houses which are particularly depended on oil for heating purposes use oil from another brand which is cheap and economical in comparison to the price tag of referred industries. All these unstated assumptions are need to be explained explicitly before coming to any hasty conclusion.

In conclusion, the arguments as it stands now is full of fallacies and it should be supported with well formatted evidences in order to make argument plausible of increasing demand of oil in northeastern united states.