The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation by a committee planning a ten year’s budget for the city of Clakatrava is impractical, unwise and short sighted. The argument is based on unstated assumptions and without supported by evidence, this argument does not contain water.

First of all, the committee are assuming the birthday of the city is declining by viewing the fact from that of five years ago. They conclude that the number of students enrolled in their public school will decrease dramatically by viewing the birth rate of last year which was half of that the birth rate of five years ago. The committee fails to provide any statistical data regarding the birthrate of the city of last five years. It is not mentioned in the argument regarding the birthrate of the city except from the last years. It may be possible that actually the birthrate of the city of last year is half that of five years ago but it may be possible due to epidemic disease spread inside the city. Therefore, the parents are decided not to have babies on that havoc situation and may going to plan this year. The argument fails to provide evidence regarding the immigrants people within the city in coming years. The number of student enrolled may increase in public schools from the student of immigrants. The argument should be backup by these evidence to give any conclusive decision regarding the enrollment of students.

Secondly, the committee decided to reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade which seems implausible. Without backing up the evidences, the committee harshly jumps into the conclusion of the number of student’s enrollment decreases drastically. The committee’s prediction of decreasing number of student’s is backed up only by the birthrate of last year. What happens if the birthrate of child increases from this year now? This situation will create havoc in student for their enrollment in school and they fail to get admission inside school. The education level will decrease drastically inside committee school and the student fail to compete in global market.

Thirdly, the committee planning member decided to decrease the funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. How is it logical to connect the birthrate with the funding in athletic fields and other recreational facilities? There are others middle age population ranging in different age group who are fund of athletic and recreational games. The argument fails to accumulate the age groups of middle age population. It is reckless to consider only children population and adult aged population and ignoring middle aged population.

Moreover, the committee is expecting the adult aged population to increase. The argument fails to provide any relevant data regarding the increase in adult aged population group. It may be possible that the most of the adult aged population wants to live in pastoral life after retirement. It may be possible that the most of the middle aged group are from rural areas and will return to same idyllic life after the retirement from the job. The argument fails to differentiate between middle aged population and old aged population. The argument only considers the population from the old aged group and named it as adult aged group. The committee members want to increase funds in cities facilities and programming. They fail to provide any description plans regarding their investment in cities facilities as well as programming. Actually, their increment facilities will interest the adult aged population or not; either they may prefer to live within family environment supporting their children and loved ones. All these factors should be considered before coming to provide any definitive plans.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full of unwarranted assumptions. The argument must be backed up by series of evidences in the form of systematic research to provide any details regarding the decrease in the enrollment programs in public school in coming years.