The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Bower builders, a company that constructs new homes in his memo states that the desiring features in the new homes are a large family sized room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. He also states that his competitor, Domus Construction have such features in their new homes which leads them to sold at a much faster and significantly higher prices that the national average. In his conclusion by the president of Bower builders, he states that they should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the new homes they build in order to boost sales and profits. The argument as it stands now does not hold water due to lack of number of evidences. In order to make conclusion plausible, it needs to be corroborated with evidences.

Firstly, the president of Bower builders talks about the results of nationwide survey which reveals the two most desired home features of large sized family room and well appointment kitchen. He fails to provide any relevant data regarding the survey describing how many people participate in the survey. It is possible only 20 people participates out of 100 who desires large family room and well-appointed kitchen. It may be possible who participates in the survey does not have any knowledge of homes and may be influenced by the advertising holders or may be through relatives and friends. It may be possible that the survey data particularly focuses exuberant families rather than middle class families whose preferences are opposite to that of argument. Thus, in order to support the two most desiring home features, it needs to be corroborated with evidences.

Secondly, the president of bower builders in order to support his conclusion has given the example of his competitor company Domus Construction. In his memo, the Domus construction has built a number of homes with similar features and sold them in faster rates and at higher prices than the national average. The result of higher prices may be due to quality of construction, the Domus construction ensures in his new homes. The Domus construction builds houses according to the customer’s choices and also has built other homes of small sized family room and modest kitchen which the president of Bower construction has fails to take into account.

Thirdly, it is possible that the different customers group have different preferences with selecting kitchen. Some prefer modern kitchen whereas other prefer traditional feature in the kitchen area. Thus, the president of Bower construction becomes prejudiced in order to build kitchen, a standard feature. Similarly, he prefers to build large family room and kitchen at the expense of dining room and has supported his theme through the result of some buyers who do not prefer a separate dining room for family meals. In his memo, he fails to provide the actual number of buyers who actually do not prefer a separate dining room. As ‘some’ is a smaller quantity than ‘many’ where the results of removing dining room may have dissatisfied many customers which lead them to loose sales and profits.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full of flaws due to lack of unwarranted assumptions. In order to make the argument valid, it is supported with evidences in a systematic format which decides the inclusion of two most desired features will increase sales and profits.