The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis, the members of the planning department have considered the comprehensive urban renewal program to revitalize the opposite side of the city of Transopolis. The program was implemented in the one side of the city of Transopolis to adapt the industrial use of a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway ten years ago which subsequently resulted in decrease in crime rates and increase in property tax revenues. The argument seems plausible in the very beginning but at close inspection, it contains a number of loopholes which need to be explicated in details in order to make the argument valid.

Firstly, the planning department has considered similar comprehensive urban renewal program which was preferred ten years ago in the city of Transopolis adapting a large area of substandard housing for industrial development. The author predicts a similar program may revitalize in the opposite side of the city at different time period of ten years which does not hold water. The situation may change in a time period of ten years and the same execution of programs may not provide an effective result as seen in the city ten years ago.

Secondly, the author believes that execution of renewal development program subsequently helps in establishment of several factories inside the Transopolis city and as a result crime rates in that area declined which may not be true. It may be possible due to strict amendment of laws related to violence acts inside that city. It may be due to higher security personnel inside the industrial areas to protect the industries from mismanagement like theft, robbery etc. The author further added the implementation of urban renewal program results in increasing in property tax revenues for the entire city. The following consequences may be due to large number of immigrants inside the city for the employment inside the industries. It can be due to proper sanitation facilities, drainage system and proper utilization of industrial wastes inside the Transopolis city which makes people feeling safe to buy or hold property inside that city.

Thirdly, the author presumes the similar prevailing conditions results in a declining residential areas on the opposite side of the city which was same before ten years ago. The argument fails to provide any relevant data regarding the decrease in residential areas inside the other side of the city. It may be due to irrelevant condition prevailing inside the city like increasing in pollutions, poor sanitation as well as lacking proper drainage and industrial waste management. The argument fails to provide any geological formation of other parts of the city like landscape of the city where it is easier or harder to get raw materials for manufacture. Either, the city possesses skill manpower to run industries effectively or not. It also needs to consider either the city is suitable for living or not.

In conclusion, the arguments as it stands now does not hold water as it is full of flawed assumptions. The argument should provide evidences in the form of systematic research in order to make argument valid regarding the execution of renewal program on the other side of the city may provide similar results as it was before ten years ago.