The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple County is concerned with a county overdeveloped policy and debates a measure that prevents the development of existing farmland in the county. They came into conclusion by stating that limiting the supply of new housing could lead to significant increase in the price of the housing. The opponents noted similar restriction adopted in Pine county resulted in its housing prices more than double, however, the proponents noted similar restriction in Chestnut county led to increase in housing price only modestly. However, both the opponents and proponents stick with the different time frame of fifteen years and ten years respectively. The council stick with the opponent side by predicting that the proposed measure will result in significant increase in housing price in Maple County if passed out. However, this argument is full of unstated assumptions and before recommendation of any assumptions which result in a significant increase in housing prices need to be analyzed in details:

First of all, the council of Maple county proposed its county being overdeveloped. In what sense they came to proposed it as fully developed? Either it has completed full potential of development in economic or physical infrastructure with full rapid growth in industrial sector, health, education and idea of smart city. How they correlate preventing the development of farmland result in preserving the concept of overdeveloped? Here it comes the concept of unstated assumptions comparing overdeveloped with preventing the development of existing farmland. However, preventing the supply of new house can check the population of a city, but how is it possible to assume checking the population with overdeveloped. It is clear that controlling the population means controlling the economic growth and consequently the ruining of idea of overdeveloped.

Secondly, Is maple comparable with Chestnut in a demographic purpose? It is possible that Maple lies in urban areas whereas Chestnut lies in rural areas whereas, reverse condition may be possible. It is not suitable to conclude the housing pricing policy without evaluating the proper data. It is insensitive to compare different time period and concluding by remaining in that time period. It may be possible that the housing in Chestnut county has been increased drastically in recent time frame as comparison to ten years’ time period. It is not mentioned here that chestnut is either a developed, underdeveloped or fully developed country. In underdeveloped county, the residents are economically weak and they cannot pay large amount in housing. That’s why it may be possible that housing policy in chestnut county increases modestly. It will be unhandy to conclude the housing prices in chestnut is modest without observing all these unstated assumptions.

Thirdly, is maple county lies in similar geographical structure as that of Pine county? How can be the council of Maple county be prejudiced that applying similar conditions as that of Pine county will definitely increase the housing prices in Maple without knowing the geographical structure of both counties. It may be possible that people residing in Pine county are economically sound and afford the opulent price structure in housing but these conditions may not be possible with Maple county. It is impossible to compare one county status with the different county status in different time frame structure? It may be possible that Pine county has lowered its housing prices in different time frame of fifteen years’ period due to its high opulent price in initial period. Due to high expensive price in housing, the large number of people migrated from there and finally a small number of people reside there in Pine county. It is not relevant to compare two different counties without knowing all these unstated assumptions.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full of flaws due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer all these unstated assumptions and present evidences in the form of systematic research, then it is possible to fully rely on the proposed recommendation to limit the existing farmland with increase in the pricing policy in housing.