The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that residents of Mentia experience lower number of headaches cases due to presence of Salicylates in food as well as their use in food processing and flavor additives. Salicylates being the same chemical member as that of an aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches; the argument states that this use of salicylates result in a continued decline in the number of headaches case in Mentia. However, it should far too hasty to accept this prediction as fact. As this argument lacks a lot of evidences to support its position. The author jumps into the hasty conclusion without explaining its unwarranted assumptions. A lot of evidences are needed to be evaluated either this argument holds water or not.

At the beginning, the author states that salicylates being the member of the same chemical family as that of aspirin helps to reduce headaches. It is fallacious to assume that being included in the same family as similar chemical properties as that of the aspirin. It is similar like being born in Messi families results in the best football player as that of Messi. However, if it is true salicylates has similar chemical structure as that of aspirin, it is unhealthier to assume that little quantity of salicylates has similar effect to reduce the headaches as that of aspirin. Quantity of the medicine either in mg or gram matters to be effective remedies. Thus, the argument is based on unstated assumptions.

Secondly, it is assumed that salicylates are responsible to reduce headaches but it might be the case that people might not be interested to register the case of headache, being non-fatal disease. It might be the case that people has changed their routine of behaviors like eating habits, sleeping habit and prefer yoga as well as exercises to get rid of headaches and more become focused towards their health condition. The argument fails to provide any relevant data regarding the number of people who has suffered from headache in the several decades and presence of salicylates in their foods help them to get rid of headaches. In this sense, the argument lacks pertinent information regarding the treatment of headache with the presence of salicylates in their food.

Thirdly, the author states that salicylates present naturally in many foods and for many decades’ food processing companies are adding salicylates as preservatives. However, the argument fails to provide any germane information regarding the presence of salicylates naturally or artificially in the large varieties of food items. The argument fails to describe the amount of salicylates present in food varieties. It also fails to mention the amount needed to treat headaches. Either it is present in large amount needed to treat headaches or its presence is so minor to treat headaches. It is also possible that presence of salicylates in larger amount can change its property to solve headaches problem. All this information’s are needed to predict the role of salicylates in solving headache or not. The author also states that salicylates can be added as flavor additives on food recently. Similarly, the same question arises as explained above the quantity of salicylates needed to treat headaches is present on foods favor for flavor additives of salicylates. So, it is fallacious to assume the treatment of headaches by salicylates without observing all these questions.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now hold no water as it contains a lot of fallacies in the form of unwarranted assumptions. These unwarranted assumptions are supported with evidences in the form of systematic search in order to believe the role of salicylates in solving the problem of headaches in Mentia’s people.