In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument states that despite of lowering its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all Punty county highways, the number of accidental cases has not been lowered down. According to highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Although, this process is implemented in order to improve highway safety, this effort has failed to decrease the number of accidental cases. Again, the argument stated to undertake the same kind of road improvement project that butler county completed five years ago by increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. By implementing all these improvements, the reported accidents in butler county has been decreased 25 percent fewer in spite of 55 mph speed limit. Despite the evidence provided by the arguer, the argument stands unconvincing as it is plagued by several flaws.

Firstly, the argument is not clarifying about the terrains of Prunty county highways. Either it possesses hilly terrains or plain terrains, the condition is not mentioned here. The major factor regarding accident in hilly terrains may be convoluted paths, acclivity or declivity road surfaces. It is not mentioned in the argument regarding the road condition of Prunty highways. Either it contains rough roads or plain roads, it is not included in the argument. If the roads condition is poor, only by limiting the speed limit, the accidents may not be limited. The arguer became prejudiced stating that the result should be effective within the year but the time frame may be limited to declare any assertions.

Secondly, the highway patrol claims that many drivers are exceeding the speed limit although the Punty county has lowered speed limit from 55 to 45 mph. It is not mentioned the actual number of data of drivers who are exceeding the speed limit, many may be any number according to the data survey. There may be some drivers who behave punctually when seeing the patrol officers; may increase the speed limit in absence of patrol officers. All the relevant data are not given in the argument. Either there are reckless drivers who breach the speed limit law because of lack of strict laws inside Punty county. Either the road conditions are so good that they confidently move over the speed limit which leads to an accident. Without evaluating all these evidence, it is difficult to believe the given argument.

Finally, the arguer states that Punty county should reconsider the same kind of road improvement that Butler county has completed five years ago. How is it relevant to compare two different counties without knowing any geographical symmetry? It is not given in the argument regarding the road condition of Butler highways five years ago. It may be in poor condition so that improvement is necessary to overcome traffic problems. However, it may be true that improvement of roads condition limits accident, but it is prejudiced to proclaim that same precaution will be effective in Punty highway. It is not mentioned in the argument regarding the qualification of drivers of butler county. The butler county may have good training centre for drivers, more stringent laws to monitor the speed limits and a high fine system if found breaching the law of speed limit. All these conditions are to be evaluated properly before presenting any conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is significantly flawed due to its reliance on these unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide additional evidence perhaps in the form of systematic research study to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to improve the highway safety of Prunty county.