Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Learning is a life time opportunity and students have to make best use of their learning period. While pursuing a degree in his/her interest, each student has variety of subjects either from his/her scope and some others outside of his field. Universities should give opportunity to each student to select subjects of his/her interest. However, these subjects must be related with the student's field of scope. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement letting the student to choose variety of courses and this will contribute full fledge learning environment inside the university.

First of all, each field is interdependent with other field and in common saying, there is no singular field of its own. While evaluating the curriculum of various universities, there are inter-disciplinary subjects connected with each other. For instance, mechanical engineering has some courses common with civil engineering likewise calculating the various loads in column beam structure. Similarly, he or she devolves inside the vast knowledge of hydraulic while designing the blades of turbine. Hence, it is necessary to have basic knowledge of other fields to be success in their related field.

Secondly, choosing subject outside one field of interest helps in evaluating the keen interest of his path. For example, a student from electronic background can choose few subjects from economic and management as well. Later on, he/she wants to become an entrepreneur and establish business module of his /her interest. In his new career field, every concept of economic or management are needed either to produce products of customer interest as well as launching new marketing skills to flourish their product.

Moreover, taking of addition subjects has one more additional advantage, it enables students to do a part time job. For examples, if a graduated engineer has a keen interest in English literature, he can sum up his career both as an engineer as well as successful writer. Hence, adding up additional subject helps in earning an extra handful of money too.

However, some may argue adding an additional subject may confuse student to choose career in their field of interest. It is either because of some unrelated subjects as well as bunk of subjects may cause hindrance in their career path. It is responsibility of universities to guide student while choosing elective subject of their kind which can bolster their main field.

In conclusion, the facts of adding more subjects help the student to be more capable and educated and helps him to pursue career from the vast field. As learning is never ending process, thus, there is no harm of adding variety of subjects outside one’s field of interest.