The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In a letter to the editor of the Parkville daily newspaper, it is mentioned that the Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children below nine years of age due to increase in number of injuries over 40,000; psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games in soccer and their unwillingness for academic activities due to long practice sessions. The author’s argument looks plausible in the initial look. However, if we look at the evidences given by the author to support argument, it does not look convincing. Therefore, a careful study and discussion reveal that the letter is groundless and has several flaws.

Firstly, the author talks about the participation of children in youth-league sports of last year but not before that to draw conclusion regarding discontinuation of athletic competition for children under nine. The author fails to provide any relevant data before last year regarding the number of injuries. The author has mentioned more and more children below nine years in youth-league sports but has failed to provide exact data of participation throughout the country. The author is claiming of injured young players over 40,000 but has not provided any germane information of the total participation in youth league sports. It may be 40,000 out of forty lakhs which is 4 percent. This data is so minimum to decide discontinue of organized athletic competition. Thus, the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the author has mentioned the increasing reports of psychological pressure among children from coaches and parents to win games in youth league soccer. How about the reports of psychological pressure among players except than that of soccer? The argument does not provide any pertinent information of other sports. Similarly, the generalization is made on the reports of increasing psychological pressure by evaluating the data from several major cities but not from all. The author fails to describe the number of players who are actually facing the pressure from coaches and parents. It may be possible that the number of players who are facing the pressure are few and most of the parents do not care about the result. The parents are mostly in the field to support and motivate their children. Significantly, the argument fails to provide any evidences in support of the author’s conclusion.

Thirdly, the author includes the voice of education experts which supports the long practice session take away their time which can be used in academic activities. It may be possible that the number of players who are in the youth sports want to build their career in sport and therefore has given more emphasis in sport activities. The author fails to provide the duration of practice session that these players involved in sports activities and is few in comparison to the hours these players spend on social media and online gaming relentlessly. If it is true, then the decision of education experts is full of flaws.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full of unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide more evidences in support of his positioning of banning athletic competition of children below nine years of age.