Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Although, knowing about the past cannot guarantee success but reviewing about the events that had happened in the past really helps us to make important decisions. Thus, I strongly disagree with the above statement.

Firstly, it is believed that everyone learns from the past experiences and summon ideas to make great decision in future. It is human nature to learn from mistakes and generates ideas, principle from the past evidences to prevent doing mistake in future. For instance, there are three phases of life- past, present and future. The present form of life was the consequences of past and the future will be the repercussion of present. That is, Football player Ronaldo through his perseverance and determinant in football field in his early childhood has gained indomitable success.

Secondly, the technological advancement is the result of previewing the past innovation and making certain changes regarding the needs of today’s life. For example- particularly, human used mobile phone to communicate as well as messaging in the past or in the initial phase of development of mobile phone. After then, the scientist realize the device can be made more useful through adding more features like insertion of camera and to provide users to use internet through his handy device. Similarly, to meet the daily need, today’s scientist discovers mobile phone to include all the features of smart computer like high advance processors, screen touch and high storing capacity.

Thirdly, the innovation of today’s life is primarily derivative of past principles, ideas and theories. For instance, the propulsion of rocket is the derivative of newton’s third laws of motion. Similarly, the nuclear bombs are particularly based on the principle of conservation of energy as well as Einstein’s E=mc2. Similarly, the concept of specific relativity of Einstein helps to understand the concepts of physics in different gravitational space and helps to understand the velocities, gravity and defined other parameters of planets in reference to earth or other’s heavily spaced bodies in modern world.

However, there are certain fields where past experiences do not matter. For example, the prediction of today’s stock market growth does not depend upon the previous ideas and does not provide information to predict in future too. Similarly, the disaster management department is not able to predict the next natural calamities occurring on the particular areas by reviewing all the possible history of calamities. But, they are able to predict the consequences or negative impact on livelihood of human kind by analysis overall damage caused by calamities in the past.

In conclusion, knowing about the past helps to predict the future and people can make great advantage of the past histories to solve the problem of today’s world through the development of cutting edge technologies.