The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the northeastern United States, winter is cold and oil is used for heating. Since, last heating season was cold experiencing below-normal temperature for 90 days, and its tendency is projected to sustain for few more years, and popoulation is prospected to grow, the writer of the letter suggests that investment should be placed to Consolidated Industries, one of major businesses which sells home heating oil. However there are some unanswered questions regarding this suggestion which can either stabilize or weaken the point of view of this letter.

The projection, the data he or she quotes is that the region merly experienced 90 days with below-normal temperature. This does not give an adequate amount of information regarding the area. What is the normal tempearture in the first place? Could it be the mean temperature? or the median tempearture for the season? Even if we know the "normal" standard, we do not know how much the 90 days differed from the "normal" temperature. Perhaps, only 5 farenheit degrees could have been lower for 90 days, while on the other hand, 30 farenheit degrees could have been lower for the whole period. In the former case, heating might not have been necessary while the latter requires most substantial heating. If the deviation or every single temperature of the 90 days are given, than it can be more helpful in figuring out the weather status in the region.

Secondly, the writer mentions new homes being build in the region. He or she suggests that these new houses will increase the demand of heating oils. In some circumstances, this logic can be undermined significantly. For instance, if the houses newly being built uses some kind of a new insulating technology and its thermal-efficiency is in a whole new level, will the residents use the conventional oil-based heating? Not really. However, if it is given evidence that the homes being built uses the same structure and traditional technology which does not differ from the existing houses in the area, then this logic can sound still.

Lastly, his or her conclusion of recommending investment on Consolidated Industries might have some fallacies. There are no given information about how the heating oil market is divided by businesses. For instance, even though Consolidated Industries has huge sector selling retail heating oil on their own, in the market they could be a weak following company compared to other companies who can might actually be seizing the market. Indeed, if Consolidated is the major company taking major share of the market, then they can utilize more profit if the demand of heating oil skyrockets. However, if there are many competitors and the market being a red-market, than there is little chance of Consolidated earning more profits.

The area regarding this letter, northeastern U.S, itself is a huge area where situations can be different in each parts inside the area; differing from village to village, town to town. For the abovementioned reasons, I humbly suggest that the writer should give more informations and details to fill out the missing holes to convince people to invest on Consolidated Industries. More statisical data and the market data can be beneficial for the letter's respondents to make their choices.