The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A recommendation has been sent by the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries to the company’s president regarding improving the employee productivity. In the recommendation, it is suggested to monitor employee’s internet use within the workstations. It is written to identify the employees who use internet inappropriately and punished them to restrict the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities. Again, it is suggested to install software on company computers to detect employee’s internet use and to prevent them from wasting time during the job. In the end, the argument concludes the following recommendation will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve overall profits. The following argument is based on unstated assumptions which does not hold water.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide evidences why is there an internet facility within the working station. What is the purpose of installing internet facility within working environment? Similarly, it fails to delineate the type of Climpson industries is, which does not need internet facility to operate its operation. It fails to recognize the evidences how an internet facility ruins the productivity of an employee and how the vice president of human resource becomes prejudiced with the uses of internet decreases productivity. The argument lacks proof regarding the internet use by employee during working hour or during idle period. It is possible that the internet is used for learning purposes or training purposes which overall increases profitability. Thus, the argument should state these unstated assumptions before coming to any conclusion.

Secondly, the argument fails to provide any relevant data regarding the calculation of inappropriate use of internet or to measure its inappropriate use. It is possible it may be used for suitable purposes like making reports, learning procedures, operating tools as well as training purposes. Similarly, it may be possible that the access of internet facility is particularly for the managerial level rather than foremen level. The managerial level who are in direct linkage with the top management committee through various channels which are direct or indirect to discuss the goals and objectives of the organization as well as achievement. These indirect channel required some medium to communicate with the top management like internet. Thus, regular monitoring of internet breaks the link with upper management which overall decreases the productivity of the company.

Thirdly, the argument states the installation of monitoring software on company computers helps to prevent the wasting of time during jobs. Nowadays, there are various mediums to access internet facility like tabs, smart phones and other useful electronic gadget. The supervision teams will find difficulty to monitor the internet activities of the employees in various inappropriate activities like personal or recreational purposes like shopping or gaming. Thus, it is pointless to assume the internet activity can be checked through the installation of monitoring software in company computers.

In conclusion, the assumptions as it stands now is full of flaws. It should be provided with evidences in order to explain it in a systematic manner of checking the use of internet facilities inappropriate manner which overall increases the profit of an organization through fostering a better work place ethic.