The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station, he states that WWAC must change its current rock-music format in order to reverse a decline in listener numbers. Despite the population growth in its listening area, it states that the decline has occurred of its listeners and again he included that the population growth has resulted mainly due to the people after their retirement. Initially, he formulated to make the taste of new residents and finally he realized that the decline in local sales of recorded music has taken place resulting in limited interest in music. Finally, he decided to change a program to a news and talk which is increasingly popularity in his area. Initially, the argument looks reasonable at first glance; however, at close scrutiny of this argument, it is full of unstated assumptions.

Firstly, the WWAC radio station manager decided to change its current rock music to reverse a decline in listener numbers. However, he fails to provide the statistical data to prove it convincible. The decline in listener may be due to cliché rock-music, they play through their radio stations. The listeners may found more interesting rock music format on other’s radio station and may shift towards other radio station. The manager has failed to provide the condition of others radio station either they are facing the same problem of declining listeners or not. All these unstated assumptions need to be explained before jumping to any conclusion.

Secondly, the manager states that the population growth has taken place in his areas and growth of population is due to the movement of people after their retirement. However, the manager again fails to provide any statistical data of population growth of retirement people in comparison to others group population. In this argument the manager fails to explain the interest of retirement person and either they have any interest on any format of music. It may be the case these retirement people have been there to live a simple austere life and no fondness of any radio program. It may be possible that these retired people want to spend some time with their family’s members and their children. All these unstated assumptions need to be explained to state any conclusion.

Thirdly, the manager states that the continuous decline in local sales of recorded music has taken place, creating limited interest in music. However, he fails to identify the shifting from music to any other programs. He also fails to predict the situation of declining in recorded music either it is perennial or ephemeral conditions. He also fails to provide the data of declining recorded music from the nearby other’s location. It may be possible that large number of people shifted online shopping of music of their devices. It may be possible that these people shifted to online application of music gallery to listen the music of their own desire. The manager fails to explain all these unstated assumptions in the given argument.

Moreover, in the last part of argument the manager talks about a program named a news and talk format who is gaining popularity in his areas. However, he fails to explain the program structure or outline of a new program that has actually attracting the large number of people. He has also failed to provide any statistical data of people admiring a new program of news and talk format. The argument lacks in providing the reliable data of other radio stations who has already started a news and talk format and their popularity in their areas. It may be possible that the new and talk format has gained popularity however, it is difficult to any radio station to face a stiff completion in order to attract large population by making name of it. Without observing all these unstated assumptions, it is obscure to shift any news and talk format which may incur more losses to WWAC station.

Summing up, the manager may be accurate in shifting to a news and talk format program in order to reverse a decline in listener members. However, the argument as it stands now is full of unwarranted assumptions and the manager should present evidences in the form of systematic formats in order to fully rely on that new program of news and talk format in order to gain listener numbers.