The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, the number of older people in our listening area has increased dramatically, while the total number of our listeners has recently declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music.

Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful, and a survey taken just before the recent election shows that local citizens are interested in becoming better informed about politics."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The general manager of KNOW radio station recommends in a memorandum that the station should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to continuous news. She/he bases this recommendation on the claim that the radio's audience has switched to an aging population, the sales of music stores have declined, and the public has showed interest in keeping up with politics, this will be a good move for the station. However, in making this argument, the manager has made several assumptions that must be evaluated for the recommendation to be considered seriously.

Firstly, the manager asserts that the number of older people tuning into KNOW station has increased dramatically, and the station should switch to news to cater to this new audience. However, the manager assumes without a doubt that older people will not enjoy rock-and-roll music. Moreover, the manager dangerously overlooks the possibility that such music may be the very reason that older people have started listening to the station. To get to the truth of the matter, the manager must first provide evidence - perhaps in the form of a survey of the station's audience - regarding whether they prefer news over rock-and-roll. In failing to do so, the manager may well drive away its core demographic, and take a turn for the worse.

Additionally, the manager states that music stores in the area of the station have recorded a decrease in sales, and attempts to tie this into the decrease in the number of people listening to KNOW station. The manager provides no explanation whatsoever for this correlation. There can be any number of reasons for the poor sales in the music stores, none of which may apply to the radio station. One reason, for example, is that people nowadays flock to music apps instead of to music stores, which will lead to a decline in the sales of music records, but does not indicate loss of interest in music altogether. Indeed, it may very well be that such people will prefer to listen to music broadcasted free of cost by the radio station, without the hassle of purchasing a record. In assuming that there is a general decline in the number of people listening to music, the manager might make the grave mistake of leading the station onto the wrong track.

Finally, the manager cites a survey claiming that local people in neighbouring cities have indicated a keenness in being better informed about politics. To begin with, the manager categorically assumes that the concerned people represent a sizeable chunk of the station's audience. There is a chance that these people have never heard of KNOW station, and do not affect its popularity whatsoever. Further, as the survey has been conducted right before an impending election, this interest in politics might be short-lived. Perhaps after the election, once the social pressure of keeping one's finger on the pulse has subsided, the public might revert to their old interests. If this happens, KNOW station will have to reconsider their programming strategies, which may be a big task in itself.

In conclusion, the manager states several reasons for believing that KNOW station needs to change its programming from its current focus on rock-and-roll music to a continuous news stream. However, on closer look, it is clear that this reasoning is based on several shaky assumptions for which the manager provides no relevant and conclusive evidence. Thus it is in the best interest of the manager to reevaluate her/his recommended strategy to determine if it is worth following through.