The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a citizen of Carlton County.

"It has been noted over the past two years that the incidence of vandalism has steadily increased in Carlton County. At the same time, it has been noted that there is a dramatic increase in out-of-state migrants who have moved to Carlton County over the past few years. Many citizens of the county believe that these migrants are responsible for the observed increase in vandalism. We therefore recommend that the county government should take strict measures to reduce the number of out-of-state migrants in order to prevent further destruction of public property and restore civic order in Carlton County."

In a letter to the editor, a citizen claims that migrants moving to Carlton County from out-of-state are responsible for the increase in vandalism over the past two years. The citizen hence suggests that to curb vandalism, migration must be checked. However, the citizen has left out crucial pieces of information regarding this claim and must answer the following three questions in order for the claim to be taken seriously.

The citizen notes that there has been an increase in vandalism over the last two years. How much is this increase though? If it is, for example, an increase from 10 incidents two years ago, to 15 incidents over the last two years, then it is not a significant increase at all. Does the increase in incidents actually warrant attention from the city authorities? Does it call for resources - monetary and otherwise - to be allocated to such a minuscule issue? The citizen must report statistics regarding the number of incidents for at least the last 5 years on the safer side, for her/his concern to be worth the city authorities' attention.

Further, the citizen claims that there has been a dramatic increase in the number of out-of-state migrants coming to Carlton County, and they are the ones committing vandalism. Notice that the increase in migration has been over the past few years - unclear, how many - whereas vandalism has been on the rise only during the last two years. If there were migrants coming in even before the last two years, were they not supposedly committing vandalism then? It seems that migration has been a phenomenon in the County for several years. The citizen must hence report statistics regarding the number of migrants, as well as how many of them have been involved in a vandalism incident, for the claim to hold any water.

Further, the citizen fails to consider any other plausible cause for the increase in crime, and chooses to pinpoint only the migrants. It is possible, for example, that civic unrest has led to protests or riots in the County, or local gangs and clashes between them have erupted more frequently over the last two years. It is quite short-sighted to correlate destruction of public property solely to migration and choose to ignore any other avenue. The citizen must provide information about the profile of citizens engaged in civic disorder and misbehavior in order to conduct a holistic overview of the issue and come to a logical conclusion.

In conclusion, the citizen's letter to the editor is full of gaping holes of information and spurious reasoning that does not give any proper insight into the issue at hand. In order to make the claim sound, the citizen must fill these gaps by providing answers to the questions raised above. Only then can a conclusion be drawn and an effective solution outlined for the problem.