Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

"What is so great about discovery? It is a violent, penetrative act that scars what it explores," says Dr. Ian Malcolm in the critically acclaimed film, Jurassic Park. Indeed, the film raised some crucial questions about scientific progress - such as to what limit should it be chased. When the dinosaurs recreated by scientists in the film wreaked havoc, it was natural to question whether it was all worth it.

Undoubtedly, science has progressed by leaps and bounds in the last few centuries. Take the atom, for instance - the smallest unit of matter. While the awareness of existence of atoms dates back to ancient cultures such as Greece and India, it was Dalton who put forth the first atomic model in the late 18th century. While it explained some material phenomenon, it was incomplete and did nothing to explain many others. Subsequent models put forth by Thomson, Rutherford, and Bohr explained some experimental observations about the atoms in turn. But even these models had some shortcomings, which led to the proposal of a quantum physics model in the 20th century. Even then, much remains to be understood of atomic behavior, which will inevitably lead to corrections to the latest model. Thus, what began as a simple concept has snow-balled into a complex physics niche of its own.

A significant aspect of the scientific process is the revelation of heretofore unknown phenomena. The pursuit of these phenomena opens up new pathways within research. For example, X-rays were discovered accidentally by a German scientist while he was working with a cathode ray tube. Later, another scientist in an attempt to investigate the connection between X-rays and phosphorescence (the property of a substance to emit light), discovered radioactivity. Of course, these discoveries have helped us to understand the world around us much better than we did before - such as why certain things glow. However, simultaneously they open up many more questions - such as whether phosphorescence can be acquired artificially. Further investigation into radioactivity also helped us to recognize radioactive exposure as one possible cause of cancer. But the questions do not end there; there is always more to be known.

Science constantly makes us realize how vast the universe is, and how little of it we understand. It is why science itself is vast. The inherent nature of discovery is to happen upon the universe's mysteries. That is why there are so many scientific fields, and experts who specialize within subfields of those fields. One fine day not too long ago, Galileo asserted that the Earth is spherical and not flat (as previously thought), and today we are set to explore Mars to see if it is fit to be inhabited. Space exploration technology has come incredibly farther than the telescope Galileo used to make his observations. Little did he know the vast implications of his work.

To conclude, scientific work is never-ending as it continues to correct itself over and over in its mission to uncover the intricacies of our world. Every little dot that it comes across, it attempts to connect it to previous dots to get a sneak-peek at the larger picture. No doubt, at any point in time, science helps us to understand the world around us much better than if we had been blissfully ignorant; but this only goes to show just how much we do not know and how much is yet to be explored.