Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

"Charity begins at home," goes the famous aphorism. Yet, in modern times, as people have become more and more aware of the troubles and toils of those less privileged than themselves, many have been taking an active interest in volunteering and activism. Arguably, these arduous tasks entail expending individual resources such as time, money, and patience. Thus, it would be unfair to say that people take such initiatives purely out of self-interest. Hence, I mostly disagree with the claim that no act is done solely for the benefit of others but rather out of some selfish agenda, for the following two reasons.

To begin, benevolent acts often benefit not only their immediate recipients but, perhaps unintentionally, even those whom the benefactor may not know personally. Take for example, climate change activists such as Greta Thunberg, toiling hard to implore governments to up the efforts to rein in climate change. When Greta first started the Friday school strike to draw attention to her concerns for the environment, little did she know that it would snowball into a global movement. Inadvertently, she might have put pressure on governments and individuals around the world to implement policies and draft green laws. Undeniably, she has impacted millions around the world without knowing who they are. It is hard to say, then, that she benefitted personally from her noble actions. Thus, since people seldom know the far-reaching implications of their seemingly trivial actions, they cannot be done out of some selfish motives.

Further, people are not required to do selfless acts, but they do them anyway. When someone is given the option to either do or not do something, you would think they would take the easy way out. For instance, it is not mandatory for people to donate items to organizations such as Goodwill, yet they do. They take the effort to sort out possessions they no longer need, check them to ensure they are still usable, and make the trip to a Goodwill outlet. They could easily throw the items in the trash and eschew all the effort, yet Goodwill is thriving. There is no instant gratification from the act. Thus, the claim that even the actions done in service to others are done in pursuit of some selfish self-interest holds no water.

Admittedly, in some cases, some people commit "selfless" acts for their own benefit. Celebrities with a tarnished reputation, attempting to better their image so they could keep getting work, fall into this category. So do politicians with a haunted past, trying to better their chances of being elected. However, could such acts, by definition, be called selfless or benevolent? Most people can see through their pretenses and condemn them for their self-centeredness. Thus, to even afford such people the consideration as that afforded to true benefactors would be a disservice to others.

In conclusion, no truly noble action by design can be deigned to have been done with the doer's personal benefit in mind, because the action often has far-reaching ripple effects. Moreover, people are not required by any law or regulation to do good yet they do so anyway. Therefore, such actions are done purely in service to others, and not out of self-interest or with some underlying hidden agenda.