Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

When the news of a novel coronavirus was broadcasted by Chinese media in late December 2020, countries throughout the world roughly took one of two approaches - either try to downplay the significance of the matter or take urgent measures to secure the health and public safety of citizens. Whatever the attitude, economies suffered and valuable lives were lost. One might argue, however, that the countries who took the latter approach have fared better than the other side in containing the virus and minimizing the damage. The prompt recommends that instead of thinking about anticipated problems of the future, governments should focus on those their country faces today, with which I strongly disagree for the following two reasons.

To begin, governments are not short-term entities that operate in their own bubble for the duration of their term. Policies once drafted have a significant lifespan, which is why they are put through several examinations and votes before they are implemented. It is obvious, then, that policies have effects that unravel over several years and decades, past the tenure of the administration that authored them. Take, for example, the Baby Boomer generation of the 1960s and 70s who had their pensions revoked and supplanted by the 401K. This move by the United States goverment was meant to increase the profitability of corporations by removing certain rules that required them to pay a minimum pension to their employees during retirement. Studies have shown that, in the absence of a stable income, the now "retired" Baby Boomers have to work minimum wage jobs to earn a living. In turn, children of that generation are struggling to earn enough to support both themselves and their parents. Thus, while the move may have been hailed at the time as a great economic boost, it has had long-lasting effects on citizens.

Further, it is arguably true that ignoring problems does not make them go away. In today's day and age, since we have the data and the technology needed to predict what problems we might face in coming years, it would be wildly irresponsible for a government to contradict the science and wash its hands of the task. Consider climate change. During the second half of the 20th century, scientists began warning us of the rapid depletion of our natural resources and the resultant rising temperatures. However, most governments paid little heed to this so-called "hoax" or "hyperbole". Lo-and-behold, we now have little over a decade to reverse climate change or at least slow it down enough so that the world doesn't turn to dust. It is important to take note of the leaders who did take steps towards expanding renewable energy avenues and sustainable development, such as Franklin D. Roosevelt most remarkably. Had more leaders followed in his and other's footsteps, we might not have had to face a dire crisis today. Thus, governments should leverage our technological abilities to best predict what challenges we might face in the near future, and formulate policies and regulations around them so that they serve their subjects to the best of their abilities.

One might argue that, since a government is voted in by none other than citizens, it should pay most heed to their immediate concerns lest it risk disappointing their hopes and ruining any chances of winning the coming elections. To this, I counter that citizens vote in leaders because they deem them capable of holding the reins of the country. If the government stoops to pandering to their subjects, we have nothing less than a corporation whose sole purpose is to keep its customers happy and its business raking in money. Leaders should demonstrate the capacity to anticipate problems and find holistic, effective, long-term solutions to them, instead of gratifying their constituents with magic tricks that purport to solve whatever issue is currently on their mind. Only then can a government be called a government of the people and for the people.