The primary goal of education is to get a job.

For years and years, a school of thought in the education sector has been clamoring for a change in the approach to schooling. They argue that since the next step from schooling is a career, schooling should be programmed to cater to the needs of specific careers. However, I mostly disagree with this idea for the two reasons detailed below.

Education began with a primordial need to impart and imbue knowledge in order to gain an understanding of the world around us. Indeed, when ancient Indian seers started the "gurukul" - a primitive school for children where subjects as varied as mathematics, science, commerce, and the languages were taught under the same roof by a single "guru" - it was not because they foresaw a monetary return on investment through it; it was to inculcate in the children personal discipline, a thirst for knowledge, and respect for the world around them. Often these students later went on to become teachers themselves, which is hardly a profession one pursues for its monetary benefits.

Further, our world and its problems are not divided into disparate, one-track fields, where the solution to a problem can be found within the field itself. Granted, to solve monumental issues and do critical research, one must be well-versed with the intricacies of their field. But such specialization does not preclude knowledge of one's surrounding environment. For any person to do their job well, they must take into consideration the economic, social, and political impacts of their actions. For example, an environmental minister is responsible for environmental conservation, but to get carried away with this sole aim might come at a huge cost. They must pay due attention to the social and economic effects of any legislation, which requires a good understanding of the socio-economic makeup of their community. Thus, while their degree might help them to get a job, to do it well, their education must be holistic.

One might argue that since jobs are specialized vocations and require equally specialized experts, it is a waste to make any person study subjects they consider irrelevant to their field. But it is important to understand that for any enterprise, one must consider the efforts of previous experts in their historical, geographical, and social context. For example, science will tell you how Madam Marie Curie discovered radium; but history will teach you of her background and the difficulties she faced as a woman in science in her time. Such details are inextricable from her story and command equal import.

In conclusion, while getting a job is a goal of education, it is not the sole objective. To see education as a sole means to an end is to disregard its significance in gaining an understanding of the world around us, which, our ancestors might argue, is why it was started.