“Oftentimes, the results of a particular action are not of consequence; rather, it is the way we go about the action that matters most.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider situations in which the ways matter most as well as situations in which the results matter most.

"If I want to deprive you of your watch, I shall have to fight for it. If I want to buy your watch, I shall have to pay for it. If I want a gift, I shall have to plead for it. According to the means I employ, the watch is stolen property, my own property, or a donation." In these words, Gandhi summarized the idea of means and ends being inseparable from each other. Indeed, it is not only the result of an action, but also the steps taken to achieve that result that matter equally, if not more.

History is the best teacher for mankind. Again and again, history has taught us that actions drive the world. One misstep can change both the meaning of our past and the fate of our future. When India achieved independence in 1947, there began an internal unrest among many Indians who wished to divide the country into two - one for Hindus and the minorities, and the other for Muslims. While the latter were moving to the newborn nation called Pakistan, several major and minor skirmishes erupted between the two clashing factions that resulted in a great loss of life and property. This marked the beginning of the conflict that has haunted the two nations to this day. In hindsight, had a more peaceful and secure approach been taken to relocate citizens to their desired regions, relations between the nations might have been cordial. In both cases, the result would be the same - the birth of a new nation - but the collateral damage would have been negligible only if more thought had been given to the means employed to do so.

Not only do means matter as much as the end result, more often than not, means actively affect the end result. Consider, for example, the French Revolution. In medieval France, the oppressive upper class consisting of the royalty, the nobility and the clergy heavily taxed the working class for their own luxuries and indulgences. While the Revolution began with peaceful protests and petitions by the moderate leaders of the working class, soon they were substituted by extremists who employed the means of violence and terror. Sure, they brought about the fall of the upper class - but at what cost? The Revolution cost France dearly, and the working class was in no better state than before. One extremist, Robespierre, who became the face of the Revolution, extensively terrorized the working class into submission to the new order, threatening them with the guillotine if they dared say a word. Ultimately, Robespierre paid for his tyranny with his own life, and France suffered from political and economic instability for years to come. Evidently, though the Revolution attained what it was meant for, the violence and oppression used by the revolutionaries could not sustain the end result.

On a more ordinary note, our actions and choices influence our daily lives regularly. Fast food is cheap and readily accessible, but we make the conscious choice of preparing food ourselves because it is more nutritious. Both options satiate our hunger, but one is clearly better in the long-term than the other. Consider, as another example, embezzlement, accepting bribes, or other illicit means of making money. While they seem more convenient and fruitful than working in earnest, most of us forego them - whether for moral or legal reasons.

In conclusion, means and ends can be seen as two sides of the same coin. One cannot be more important that the other. Moreover, the actions one takes towards achieving an end result may very well influence that end result. Thus, while it is easy to lose perspective in a fit of zeal about attaining a goal or performing a task, we must take pause and think through the actions we take to do so.