“Oftentimes, the results of a particular action are not of consequence; rather, it is the way we go about the action that matters most.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider situations in which the ways matter most as well as situations in which the results matter most.

The question of which is more significant or of greater consequence between the result of a particular action and the way we go about the action is one that has been debated for years. The way we go about an action can be explained to include sacrifices made, our intentions, or even the very struggle passed through to brink an action into reality. On the other hand, the result of an action can range from extreme joy and satisfaction to terrible sadness. While some may argue that the way we go about an action matters more than the result of a particular action, I would argue that the contrary plays out more often than expected.

To drive my point, I would like to make an illustration of the popular Mary Slessor who fought for the ban of the killing of twins. Had Mary Slessor died as a result of her struggles and not achieve what she had hoped for, the chances that I would even be here writing about here would be very minimal. What am I trying to say? I’m saying that majority of people only appreciate the fact that she was able to bring about a ban in the killing of twins (otherwise regarded as the result of her actions), with only a few paying attention to how she went about it.

To further make my point, I would be making another illustration – the late Nelson Mandela who fought and struggled for the independence of South Africa as a country. Nelson Mandela was known to be a strong activist during his early years and was known to have promulgated the idea for the independence of South Africa. Due to this, he even spent a significant part of his life in prison. However, at long last, South Africa gained its independence and tout him to be a significant part of the movement that led to this. Till date, he remains highly venerated owing to this cause. Had Nelson Mandela’s dream not been achieved, history will barely recognize him, as he would most likely only be remembered as an unruly activist who tried to bite more than he could chew. In this case, the way he went about promulgating the independence of South Africa would not be deemed consequential.

Another illustration I would love to pen down in backing my stance is the case of Germany who won the 2014 World Cup. Mario Gotze, who happened to score the winning goal during the final match will forever be remembered. Why’s that? Because he was able to put a smile on every native German football fanatic. Barely a few individuals would do so much as to remember the particular methods he put in place to score the said winning goal. All that mattered till date is the fact that he was able to score the goal, pushing Germany to emerge as the World Cup winner.

While it may seem that the results of our action are of a more significant consequence, and not the way we go about the said action, certain cases do allow for the contrary to play out. To prove this, I would be making an illustration of the most recent altercation that occurred between the US and Iran. For years, both countries have fought one another, but the recent clash that occurred is even more disheartening. Why’s that? In a means to establish superiority, bomb missiles were launched in certain army camps in Iran that housed US military men, causing them to lose their lives, many of whom are husbands and fathers. In this case, the way the 2 countries went about their actions seem to be of greater consequence than the result they both aimed to achieve – the sadness the death of these US military men brings to their families and the US as a country justifies this.

In conclusion, even though the result of a particular action might appear to be of greater consequence than the way we go about it (as illustrated by the cases of the banning of the killing of twins, the South African independence, and Germany winning the World Cup), certain scenarios (such as the current altercation between the US and Iran) often allows the contrary to play out.