“Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

The question of whether men and women should be permitted to carry out the same set of activities is one that has existed for ages. This stems from the numerous physical nuances that exist between the two genders, such as body strength. While many argue that both genders are equally able to carry out the same set of tasks, others posit that the contrary plays out more often than normal. In this essay, I'd be writing in defence of the notion that men and women are not equally suited for many tasks stemming from the major physical differences.

First on the list of reasons in support of my stance is the fact that generally, some men are more suited for more arduous tasks, such as engineering tasks, manual labour on the farmland, and the technology field in general. It is not a new trend to discover that activities in these fields are majorly dominated by men, sparing only a few slots for females. This segregation arises majorly from the fact that the men are more built and able-bodied to cope with the stress that comes with these tasks, compared to the female gender. However, while this may not be true in all cases, studies have shown that this plays out more often than the contrary. This can even be observed in the number of students that enroll for engineering courses - a higher proportion of these students are men, further supporting the idea that men are naturally inclined to go after such tasking duties and fields.

Another angle I would like to take in buttressing my point is in the case of leadership roles. Over the years, a greater majority of leaders have been of the male gender. While history has proven that women are also up to the task, the numbers are minute when compared to that of the males. Most historian leaders such as Nelson Mandela, the presidents of the United States to date, and the presidents of many other countries prove this. While this may not seem to be as a result of the inherent physical differences between men and women, history has ascribed such roles to men majorly. A good reason might be due to the higher degree of boldness and affirmation the male voice carries, which is more likely to command respect, than the faint voice most women boast of.

While it may appear that men are better able to take on certain tasks, women have also shown prowess in a good number of tasks, when compared to males. To support this, I would be making the illustration of female hair stylists. It is quite rare to come across a male who happens to be a hair stylist for females. This may be due to the fact that women have been regarded to be able to perform such duties better as they tend to understand the various nuances that exist between various hair styles and colors when compared to males. Studies have shown that females are in a better position to differentiate between subtle shades of colours than men, and the reason is not far-fetched - further studies have found the female brain to be more convoluted than the male brain. This gives it the intrinsic ability to be able to see the minor differences in the colours of materials that the male wouldn't detect. However, this doesn't rule out the fact that there exist some men that are female hair stylists. In fact, in some cases, these men tend to be better than some female counterparts in the field.

Although, it may seem that the inherent physical differences between men and women make them not equally suited for the same tasks, such belief comes with certain restrictions that would be otherwise avoided if the opposite opinion is permitted. Such restrictions include the limited push for gender equality which many have fought to achieve for so many years. Historically, the assumption that men and female are not suited for the same set of tasks has birthed the idea that the woman's place is in the kitchen, and the man's duty is to work hard to bring food to the table and support the family, leaving the woman with the mere task of just sitting at home and ensuring that the man comes home to meet food. This belief stultifies the extent of women's dreams in general, and even deprives the world of some possible innovations that could have been birthed by women.

In conclusion, while it may appear that the male and female gender are not suited for different tasks such as activities in the engineering field requiring hard labour and leadership roles, it hampers the struggle for gender equality, thus restricting the limits that a woman can attain in the general world.