The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that luxury retailers should shift their focus to lower-priced markets since the market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline is not entirely logically convincing since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that the sample used in the report is a representative sample. This cannot be confirmed to be true since the argument does not provide information about how this report was taken and about the set of people that were actually interviewed. It could happen that the set of people who were interviewed were of the middle to low economic class and not the high economic class. Also, it could happen that the set of people that were interviewed for the report aren’t the people that previously spent tons on luxury goods. If these cases are to be true, then the argument is flawed, and the conclusion cannot hold.

Second, the argument fails to address whether people are willing to purchase lower-priced non-essential goods in spite of the economic decline. For one, people might not be willing to spend a penny on anything deemed non-essential if the economic decline bites hard on them. Also, some people are obsessed with luxury items and always find a means to keep up such a lifestyle, regardless of what the economy has in store. Such sets of people could go as far as to source loans from banks, just to be able to meet up. It is also possible that these set of people will not settle for anything below luxury or lower-priced markets, so to say. In this case, if such scenarios hold, then the argument is flawed.

Finally, the argument omits the possibility that the decrease in the amount of money an average household spends on non-essential goods could have been low during the period the report was made, regardless of whether there were higher levels of unemployment rates or not. It unwarrantably connects the high unemployment rates and consumer fears as to why people would be unwilling to spend on non-luxurious items. What if people just wanted to save money during the period the report was made? What if the set of people interviewed were saving money to purchase even more luxurious items than they had previously purchased and as such decided not to spend much on luxury goods during this period? These are questions the argument fails to answer, and for which the argument would be flawed if they were true.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The reasons provided to support the conclusion is not sufficient to support the conclusion of the argument because the set of people interviewed in the report could tag the luxury goods as essential, and not non-essential as the argument assumes.

In conclusion, the argument might have been strengthened if it provided reasons to show that the sample used in the report was representative, or that people are willing to purchase lower-priced goods amidst the crisis, or that the reasons for the reduction in the luxury market industry were not restricted to the high unemployment rates and consumer fears.