The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-prices markets.

The argument that luxury retailers should shift their attention from luxury goods industry as a result of its decline is not entirely logically convincing, since it does not consider some pivotal assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that the unemployed persons are financially bankrupt. It does not show that these increased set of people do not have savings plan or some possibility of not getting employed in the years to come, even months. The argument may have been strenghtened if the author have shown that the higher rate of unemployed citizens have no financial recovery plan and that the present economic climate is not bound to improve.

In addition, the argument never addresses the kinds of fears the consumer may have. These fears may totally be unrelated to purchasing higher-priced goods. And may be as a result of any factors other than consumption of luxury-goods. This argument may have been made more convincing if there are reports of more studies on consumer fears.

Finally, the argument does not consider the fact that the decline of luxury-goods purchasing may have been caused by factors not listed above. There are many factors that may have been responsible for the economic climate other than the highlighted factors. The author could have strenghtened the argument by broadening the causals of the decline.

Thus, this argument is not totally sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion that luxury goods industry will decline does little to prove that conclusion, since, it does not address the assumptions already raised. Ultimately, the argument may have been improved, if the author take into considerations the suggestions highlighted.