The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

The argument that luxury-goods market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate is not entirely logically convincing as it ignores certain important assumptions.

First, the argument is based on a report but fails to show the number of households that were included in the report. The reports might have focused on small number of households which will therefore render the argument invalid for a larger percentage of households around the world.

Secondly, the argument also did not show whether the report were conducted in a developed community or a less developed community. In case of a less developed community, their is high rate of poverty which will explain the unemployment rate and the decrease in the amount of money the average household spent on nonessential items. On the other hand, report from a developed community will most likely show a different data as high class household spends a lot on luxury and comfort.

In addition, the argument failed to mentioned whether or not the reports were from upper, middle or lower class family. If the majority of the reports were from lower class family then certainly, the argument will not hold true due to the fact that family in this class will surely focus their limited resources on the essential items.

Finally, the arguments omits the period in which the report was recorded. If the period was, for example, war period which people were just focused on surviving or during the great the recession when there was general economic meltdown whereby only the essential items was needed because people have to ration food and shelter they can afford.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. There is not enough logical evidence to support the assumption that luxury-goods market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate since the argument failed to address the already raised assumptions. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened if the author could have shown important statistic involved in the report, for example, the total number of household that was reported, the social class of each household, the period in which the report was recorded and the type of community that was report was conducted in.