The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

The author of this argument made some seemingly bogus claims considering the premises, or perhaps, he has refused to explicitly explain how some of these premises holds true in regards to the conclusion.

First he pointed out the increase in employment rate as the cause of the current decline in purchase of luxury goods but refused to be drawn to the fact that the increase in inflation, which of course has a direct effect on purchase of essential goods such as food items, clothes, as well as housing could, in one way or the other indirectly affect the balance that had existed between purchase of essential and non-essential items. This holds true due to the fact that consumers, of course, as a result of the inevitable precipitous increase in price of certain essential commodities would be forced to be frugal in their economic decision, to avoid any frivolous spending, with non-essential goods the first to suffer from this implication.

The author also failed to address the possibility of strict government regulations and sanctions that might be associated with purchase of certain luxury goods. For instance, in certain countries, the bulk of their luxury goods took its source from import from other countries. Government in these countries place embargo on some of these goods and prevent the inflow of these goods which will in turn deprive consumers access to these goods, hence, the purchase rate of these goods will plummet. Luxury goods such as motor vehicles could be facing stricter regulatory measure from custom body as it is becoming increasingly difficult to import these goods successfully into different countries.

The author also omit in his argument the direct effect of natural disaster as a reason for the drop in purchase of luxury goods by merely and strictly reiterating on consumer fear and increased unemployment only to bolster his conclusion. Some natural disasters, such as diseases, especially ones that have become epidemic could prevent people from going about their normal activities and as a result, more attention would be drawn into combating and ameliorating the direct effect of these natural disasters than it is to purchasing luxury goods.

It is lucid that there are a lot of flaws associated with the premises used to reinforce the conclusion that luxury goods is on the decline unless some assumptions like inflation, strict government regulations and sanction, and effect of natural disasters are also put into consideration.

Ultimately, one could say the conclusion of the argument above holds true, or more valid, only if the author becomes less parochial but more eclectic to explain other reasons that could result in the drop of luxury goods purchased which have been clearly evinced above.