Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Universities are known to be the apogee of academic. This is the highest point of academic level one can study. This makes it imperative the meticulous nature of these institutions in selecting the number of courses one can offer and how these courses can be offered. Despite the sophisticated nature of higher institutions, many believe they should require every student to take different courses outside their field of study. However, this has largely been met with skepticism by some who believe taking additional course, or what we popularly know as elective course is unnecessary and irrelevant to the exploit of university students. After considering some evidence, university students should be made to take courses away from their field of study.

For instance, flexibility and versatility should be allowed in universities. This helps to eradicate or mitigate the issues associated with provincial knowledge; inability of students to have knowledge beyond the scope of their study. For instance, political arena is known to consist hodgepodge of people from different field of study-humanity, medical and social sciences. There will be more profound knowledge in governing a state by these politicians if they had been allowed, in case of the medical students to take courses in humanity-Government. Such a course will give them more insight into what it entails to govern. Further, the same obtains in banking, banks todays contain motley of workers who have shallow knowledge in accounting. But this predicament could have been obviated if students are allowed to take courses in accounting or statistics, this will help improve the banking system and render it more effective.

The opponents of this prompt might point out how irrelevant this courses might be to the students but it’s worth nothing that students have nothing to lose while studying these courses. It should be known that these courses are potential tools for these students to overcome some difficulties that might ensue in the future. For instance, we live in an era where technology has hit every sector of the economy and people are moving away from the manual way of doing things to the tech-way. In an era where technology has become pervasive in every sector doesn’t it require every student to take courses in this field to balance their knowledge in their specific field of study? A medical student without a good knowledge of how to operate computer or effectively use some programs in computer is bound to fail as a medical doctor. A potential business magnate who failed to incorporate tech-related course into his field of study while at school is threading a precarious and uncertain career in this field.

In an ever-growing world filled with inter-relation of fields, where economics is now an intrinsic part of medicine, which in turn forms a facet of agriculture, it has become imperative for university students to embrace versatility of knowledge and shun the traditional parochial way of studying.