The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

The following argument is not entirely logically sound for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unjustified assumption that, since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate causing its main conclusion the market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline, to be invalid.

The argument did not provide any justification that high unemployment will necessary lead to decrease in the purchase of luxury goods. What if there is possibility that luxury goods are more affordable than essential goods. This will render the assumption baseless. Had the argument provided information regarding the will price of luxury goods relative to essential good. Even then it would not have been sufficient to justify the assumption because it is possible people could not stop purchasing luxury good because of their liking for it or addition.

Secondly, the Argument never addresses some unanswered questions. Even if unemployment is going to cause decrease in the amount people spend, it does not necessarily mean the effect will first be felt on the retailers of luxury goods. What if those who consume or purchase Luxury good are lucky to still hold their Jobs and if few employment opportunities are given to lover of luxury goods.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that luxury good industry in on a decline. There is possibility that Luxury goods sales is seasonal or may be not, and since the author did not provide details about luxury good sale and season such assumption is still lacking.

Because the argument makes several unjustified assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that luxury goods industry in on a decline.