“People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In writing your essay, you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false.

A powerful person is one who has the authority to impose, discipline, kill or save individual, or people collectively. Some may agree that respect is given back to the powerful when the use of power is being displayed. But another will argue that respect truly comes when the powerful has the opportunity to use power, but resist from using it. After weighing the two possibilities, I strongly believe that respect is earned when the powerful refuse to use the power to command respect.

As Powerful as Jesus was during his life time, he earned respect not by the use of the power, but by submission. Jesus Christ is known to have power to command, destroy, kill and so on. But the point at which he earned respect unanimously was when he refused to use the power to make things work for his pleasure, but for the good of others. To be powerful and be submissive thrill people and brings along Unfeign respect.

Abraham Lincoln command respect as the president of America when he refused to use his power against the request of the people, but made it an avenue to consider their request. When people opinions are considered as important, it bring about an avenue for them to deeply respect the giver of the opportunity knowingfully that they cannot question the authority, if the reverse is the case.

Even if it may seem that those who use their power to make things happen command respect; example is the like of Adolf Hitler, who used his power to command people for world colonization, but history has shown that those who are truly respected are those who submitted to the offer of people instead of using their power to impose on the people.

In conclusion, it is a saying that “respect is reciprocal”, so when the powerful repsect the perspective of others, the powerful will also earn Respect.