The powerful are most respected not when they exercise their power, but when they

refrain from exercising it.”

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In writing your essay, you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it

may be false.

It is believed that people are most powerful when you don’t know the extend they can go with their resources. Yes this is always true in most cases in our age. Although, people that believe in military leadership will tell you that action speaks louder than voice. But, most of the time, this form of leaderships have brought only ruin to those that practised it. Refraining from using power is truly the only assured way of gaining respect.

The current Russian president Is a perfect example of how refraining from using your power is the best form of leadership. In world politics, Putin have always been seen as one of the most powerful people on earth. Mainly because of how he managed to have kept Russia out of war and still maintained influence without much force. This view of him changed few months ago, when he decided to go on war with the Ukraine government. Some might consider his action as defending his country’s interest. But, are we going to call that defence of interest in the real sense? When many lives are being destroyed by that particular use of force. This is how good and bad exercising power can be in the destructive sense. Showing that it is not the best way to earn respect. Instead, you will achieve the opposite.

This particular action of Putin, is what brings many men to bow at the foot of the current united states president. Biden handled the crisis of Ukraine/Russia so intelligently that it can never be forgotten in few years. He could have decided to attack Russia, as a way of showing support to Ukraine which would have resulted to a 20th century world that we all dreaded. But, he showed intelligence and by doing so, he saved our planet and will always be remembered for that. Considering how the third world countries and many other economies are going to suffer the consequences of that war. He said No! To it.

Another good example of how refraining from exercising your power is the best way to achieve respect is by refraining from using it is the story of a formal president of one of Africa biggest countries. In Nigeria, a sitting president have never lost election before in the history of the country. This happened for the first time in 2019, when president Goodluck lost to the current sitting president of the country in a general election. He had every reason to appeal the election or at the least refuse to hand over power. Considering few irregularities noticed in the election result. But, knowing the impeding danger on the citizens, he decided not to do so. Instead he made the statement ”that my political ambition does not worth the life of any Nigeria”. We all respect him for that today because it is rare to see leaders from Africa with such level of selflessness and sense of responsibility to his citizens. This particular action earned him the UN ambassador of peace and showed many people how respect is actually gotten from refraining from using power.

We can all agree that Inaction sometimes can be the best form of defence, this world leaders in my example and many others are perfect examples that support the fact that respect is best earned by refraining on exercising power. Especially, when it is going to cost lives and properties.