The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When we teach people, we are trying to make certain knowledge or character an inseparable part of them. Without the ability of animals to teach their younger ones, succession would have been a more difficult phenomena. In the issue that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones, I will be taking the position that support the statement to a very reasonable extent for the following reasons below.

Firstly, scientific research have shown that the brain is developed mostly at the very early ages, between 0 to 12 years. This imply that people tend to fully develop most of the traits and behaviour during this period. Which will mean that praising every single good action of people at this age will definitely make the stick with these people. A very good example is a popular health care work at Kiye hospital who decided to be a nurse mainly because of how people cherished her character of always looking out for other sick children during her younger ages.

Secondly, as emotional animals, we tend to engage more on things that will generate endorphin and other feel good hormone. Praising people and massaging their ego is one of the surest route to releasing these hormones. If we concatenate praising people for positive actions and teaching, it will help to encourage humans to do more of the good things because they want people to tell them more of these sweet words and praise. This pattern of teaching is something very common among teachers in the primary schools and it has proven to be a very effective one.

However, there is an addition that will make this method of teaching more effective. Praising people for positive actions will encourage them to do more of the positive things. But our issue also suggest that we should ignore the negative ones. I will say that ignoring negative actions can be very counter productive and can flaw our issue statement a bit. Instead as we praise positive statement, there is also need to castigate the negative ones, so as to discourage people from indulging in them. For instance, a child will never know that throwing stones at adult is totally against good behaviour except you point it out to he/she.

There is also possibilities that people will want to engage more in good behaviour, not for its own sake, but for the admiration and praise they will get. Such situation will defeat the aim of inculcating praise as an element of teaching. Which will definitely be a minus to our issue statement.

In conclusion, in as much as praising people is good for teaching, it will be a more complete issue statement, if we also consider adding punishment for negative actions. Which means that one can consider adjusting the issue statement to “The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and discourage negative ones”.