The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The conclusion that ultraClean soap is the cause of 20 percent reduction in patient infection as cited by the memo from the director is skeptical. It supported it's position by pointing at the controlled laboratory study and the test of regular-strength UltraClean at individuals in the hospital at worktown. However, there are about three alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation. These alternative explanations can also plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument as shown in the paragraphs below.

To start with, The standard of living of the people in Worktown is different from that of other people in different areas where their other hospitals are located. For instance, it is possible that Worktown is a rich neighborhood where almost all the population are very concious of their hygene. Which will make bacterial growth in the area to be at the minimum. If this is the case, then the explanation for the 20 percent reduction can not be attributed to the use of UltraClean soap. Instead, the 20 percent reduction will be as a result of the growing hygiene conciousness among people in Worktown, which other people in other localities may lack.

Secondly, the 20 percent reduction can also be attributed to an inaccurate report from the hospital in Worktown. Perhaps the doctors in the hospital in workton may be very dishonest people. It is also possible that the report was prepared impetuosly, missing some actual incidence of patients infection. A situation where the report from the hospital in Worktown significantly missed out of about 60 percent of actual incidence of infection in thier report. It will be illogical to arrive at the explanation that the prompt arrived at because the actual infection in the hospital at Worktown will be definitely higher than the cases of patient infection in any other hospital.

Thirdly, it is possible that the major point of contact of patients to infection is not through the hand. If this is the case, the fewer cases of patient infection cannot be attributed to the use of UltraClean soap. For instance, the major channel in which patients get infections might be through the nose. This will imply that the majority of patients infected may still be infected even if they used the UltraClean soap. It will also mean that those not infected at Worktown have other means of prevention apart from the use of the soap. It can be that they all use a nose mask or that their air is somehow purified by the presence of specific plants lacking in other places.

In conclusion, The explanation for the reduction given in the memo is definitely flawed. Other apparent factors can replace the explanation, making it hard to base any decision on that explanation.