. The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of childrearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

First, according the article, Dr. Field visited only the island of Tertia unlike the author which focused on the whole groups of island. Therefore it is possible that method raising of children on Tertia is different when compared to other groups of the island. Since the argument is focused on childrearing methods in Tertia, the author should not have included other villages on the island because it takes us out of the scope of study.

Second, the author reported that he interviewed children which may have given him a narrow view different to that of Dr. Field's that observed the whole village, children and adults alike. Interviewing only the children will not provide the accurate description because the children are not raising themselves, parents and other adults in the village should be brought into the fold to clearly understand the childrearing methods in Tertia.

Finally, children talking about their biological parents more than the other adults in the village does not invalidate Dr. Fields conclusion. Children in the island of Tertia might be spending more time with their parents thus increasing interaction time between them. Children might also find their parents more interesting which will ultimately lead to the children spending more time talking about their parents.

Thus, the argument fails to provide evidences beyond reasonable doubt that interviewed-centered method will produce a much more accurate understanding of childrearing traditions in Tertia than the observation-centered method. The argument might have strengthened if the author have interviewed; the children in Tertia village only and not include other islands as well as children, parents and adults rather than only the children.