Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific research is the cornerstone for growth and development of any society, in fact it is what seperates the developed countries from the third world countries. While it is necessary to allow the scientists operate and conduct their research freely, it is even more important to place limitations on their conduct to prevent going against humanity in the name of science.

During the reinessance period, many scientific discoveries were clamped down by the Church because their discoveries invalidate the church dotrines. This type of restriction is borderline selfish and pose great danger to science.

In the morden world, the goverment have established ethical codes of conduct that draw the line between scientific research and dehumanizing acts. Some scientist have been prosecuted for experimenting on humans like some sort of lab rat which they can dispose of anytime. These scientists argue that complexity of the human system is too much that experimenting on lower mammals like rat and mice wont get enough results. But this school of thought is flawed because each human being have the right to life and to be treated as a human being in any situation.

If there are no restriction in scientific research and development, there will be nothing stopping rich and powerful nations in using their poor enemies as laboratory rats especially in war-fare as was documented in Second World war where there was numerous reports of German laboratories turning enemy fighter into real life super soldiers.

Conclusively, just like rule of law guiding our day to day activities, restriction on scientific research and development is important to keep their conduct in check and make sure scientist remember that their effort is ultimately to make human life better, not to engage in dehumanizing and demoralizing method in the process.