GRE sample issue pool essay topic 129

Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Graduates of educational Institutions these days spend about 5 years in school only to end up roaming the streets with their degree certificate. There is an existing issue encouraging institutions to incite their students to explore fields with more opportunities. I mostly disagree with this notion as jobs these days undergo an unreliable trend.

To start with, availability of job opportunities in most countries seem to obey trend changes. The society is constantly developing inciting new needs and more pressing challenges superceding previously established ones. For example, there were a couple of students going for secretarial studies years ago, because roles of secretarial assistants were rampant and fairly profitable. However, with the advent of technological improvement, the need for this role dwindled, as the position transitioned from human management to being controlled by computerised systems. While some job opportunities dissappeared, seemingly uncommon fields blossomed. Hence, field whose job are plentiful today may become austere tomorrow.

In addition, plentiful jobs is not tantamount to profitability, and hence would not be in the best interest of the student. For example, the availability of myriads of cleaning opportunities would not make a university to encourage its students to go study a related course. This is simply because this particular role, although, easy to get, is not profitable and might not be sufficient to meet the needs of such an individual. Also, some roles are highly sought after, even though not plentiful. For instance, mechatronic engineering is a yet unpopular field, but with many prospects in the society. An institution should encourage its students to jump on such fields.

However, some individuals who were not gainfully employed after graduation must have spent years in a studying a field they had no idea about the opportunities. It is a good effort that the university is trying to influence the student choices. But the eventual decision still lies on them.