Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

P#1

Education is vital for both individuals and nations, as it provides the opportunities to personal success and talents for nations. That gives no doubt of the significant role educational institutions plays. So, the following question we need to consider is that what is the appropriate way for educational institution to guide their students. While some people think that educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful, I hold the view that we cannot fully accept that idea as this may lead to horrible things, reasons are as follows:

P#2

Firstly, I need to argue that I partly agree with the idea of encourage students to choose fields where jobs are plentiful. Many students in America may be African or Asian, thus their social positions are not that high. Therefore, many parents send their students to school as they want them to reach higher social position. Those fields where jobs are less will add burden to those families and it is unwise to encourage them to make this choice. The best way for them would be majoring in computer science and law, which gives them fixed income and high social position. Considering these people, I think we should encourage them to choose fields with more job opportunities.

P#3

However, I do not think it a good idea to fully accept the issue as there are several setbacks. One is that if we do so, those fields with less job opportunities but is essential for human civilization will not be visited and result in great loss. Take myself as an example, as a student major in pure mathematics, I noticed that the amount of student in pure mathematic institution of my school is very low and there is less people choose algebra geometry as their major field as it has no application in real world thus jobs opportunities are less. But the idea in algebra geometry is really advanced and important in mathematic which cannot be thrown away. If we accept the issue fully, then I will sad when I saw no one will visit the field of algebra geometry anymore, and this is definitely a huge loss.

P#4

What’s more, we need to consider the problem that such policy will let people become utilitarianism. If we encourage all students purchase job but not academic goal, then the society would naturally place money and power in the first place, leading to a bad moral of society, which is exactly not what we want to see. The education in young age will directly determine that a person will be when he becomes adult, so the value of education would be the value of society, thus we cannot fully adopt this issue.

P#5

As we have discussed above, although the issue has some reasonable room, we need to be cautious with its setbacks. Educational institution needs to provide aptly suggestion to students by considering both their interests and their future career!